We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it thinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bonaparte

Bonaparte
443 Rue St. Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)
+1 514-844-4368
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bonaparte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Notre-Dame
Transit: Station de metro Place d'Armes Place D'Armers Metro station
Description: Four star French classic restaurant located in Old Montreal.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A business is defined by its attention to detail, and coupled with this restaurant being rather questionable value, I cannot score it more than 3 stars. A few points:
1. Service was patchy - we had to ask for the bread
2. A waiter who keeps asking 'everything is great?' is both irritating and highly presumptuous
3. Portions were modest. Two small scallops and a couple of shrimps does not make a starter worthy of some £12 in UK money
4. Dessert seemed to be an afterthought. It came within a couple of minutes of ordering, and my small portion of chocolate cake was accompanied by synthetic 'squirty' cream. Not acceptable

The food was perfectly tasty, but the prices were very high, and did not reflect what the Bonaparte thinks it should be. We were frankly disappointed. You can do better, and spend much less money, in Montreal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbbonaparte, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Fortysoemthing7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. Bonaparte restaurant does certainly want the best satisfaction for its customer, and that for the last 29 years. We will improve our way of an efficient service without being presumptuous. However, I must assure you that everything on the dessert plate is fresh and made in house. The coulis, whipped cream etc... are not synthetic.

Truly yours, Martin, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    183
    46
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went on a Saturday evening and had the special 5course spring menu at 48 C$ per person. Choice of 3 soups 4 starters and 5 main courses. All beautifully presented and tasted great. Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasting menu is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The tasting menu was a great experience and worth the price. Service was attentive but not overdone. Our favorite dishes during the tasting were the Symphony of desserts, sorbet, and the mushroom ravioli.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were not planning on going here for dinner initially, but I believe we lucked out. The food was unpretentious yet flavorful. The cod was amazing, as was the mushroom ravioli. The souffle (3 different types) was good and not at all eggy, but it would have been nicer if it was accompanied with a sauce to pour down the middle.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming, and we appreciated that they accommodated us despite our very late (9:30 PM) reservation and souffle dessert order (15-minute wait); we were the last to leave around 11:45 PM.

I would like to come here the next time I'm in Old Montreal again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We eat at Bonaparte restaurant beginning of June 2013. The service was excellent, he atmosphere really relaxing and the food (and the presentation) pretty excellent. We took the ''Menu dégustation d'été'' which include 5 services.
Every thing for A to Z was delicious and the waitress (Anne) was really nice and helpful with us. She even bring a different dessert for my friend birthday (profiterole with a sparkling candle).

We had a great time there and will come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaparte also viewed

 

Been to Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.