We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grecque Lasalle

Casa Grecque Lasalle
7218 Boul Newman, Montreal, Quebec H8N 1X2, Canada
(514) 364-0494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,553 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our new year’s eve was ruined. We were 60 people group squeezed in the corner next to the wash rooms with only one 20 inch. wide in/out access (place can accommodate no more that 16-20 people). Everything was randomly served without any common sense, many plates were missing, my husband doesn’t get the soup and dessert, I never seen my salad; at the end they give us free soda saying “this is a compensation “... I can write a book with terrible facts as dirty utensils, no speakers for this part of the restaurant, so no music (to remind this is supposed to be a party!!), not enough glasses, etc.
Food was generous.. and awful, except the dessert, for those of us lucky to get one.... overcooked langoustines, extremely raw meat, dry rice...
Never, never, never again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've eaten at the Casa Grecque in LaSalle a few times and have never been overly impressed. The portions are generous and the starter salad is usually good but, whenever I eat anything with their gravy, I always get a bad aftertaste awhile later. It repeats on me. I find that I much prefer the Greek food at Arahova across the road and down a bit. The last time I was at Cas Grecque, we were placed beside a large group and a few kids from that table were running around and playing in the aisles, annoying all the other guests and getting underfoot while the waiters were tring to serve other customers. I'm not sure why management didn't ask the parents to control their children - it is a restaurant not a playground. I never do understand parents who bring their children to a restaurant and let them run wild. It ruins the meals of other paying customers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awful place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our group of six was unceremoniously shoved out of the way by two waiters at the doors. The third actually asked us if we want a table, but ‘no place on the patio’. Ok, we’ve requested a place by the window – but were seated in a noisy, dark corner with no window to speak of instead. When we’ve asked to be seated upstairs, where everything was empty, were told that all tables ‘are reserved’. When I’ve asked to talk to a manager, the waiter gave me a one over and turned on his heals and just left. No manager appeared at our table, so I was ready to leave this disgusting place, but my party was tired and hungry, so we’ve decided to stay.

Boy, was that a mistake. Two of our party got violently sick the same evening and considering that we didn’t eat anywhere else, the only culprit is this joint. They ate the meat and shrimp combo, and appetizers.

If you value your health (and maybe like a good service), avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville-Marie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't order the filet mignon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Easter Day, family group of 12. Service was EXTREMELY slow, almost like we didn't exist at some times. I am not a picky eater but when I order a steak, in the filet cut, in the rare cooking, I expect it to be tender. This steak was fat and tough. The greek salad was good and the baklava was great. I sampled my nephew's cheesecake and we agreed that it was a 6/10.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We were greeted graciously and the food and service were awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Grecque Lasalle also viewed

 

Been to Casa Grecque Lasalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grecque Lasalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.