We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the taste of Italy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Via Roma

Via Roma
7064 St Laurent, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
514-277-3301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,824 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good but not the taste of Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had the veal parmesan with vegetables and potatoes with an entry of pasta.It was not bad but not the best of the Italian food, my friend mother cooks better, I wont go back to that place. We did have good service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    9
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awfull service - basic food- dont go there !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hi,

just went to this restaurant last friday for a B-day party. Been there already in the past years for business lunch and was happy to go back but this time, I will never go back.
This is the only restaurant in montreal and maybe in north america where you can't have separated invoices. She refuses to do it and was very upset when we insist to have them separated !
I think it is the owner and she is just crazy. All the servers had take on a paper what we had but it was too hard for her to separate and she was asking for tips for them but we never even have for example a glass of water.
I dont know how is she going to manage this next week at the GPF1. This place is going to die if they don't change and that's the only thing they deserve !
Food is really basic, there is way better food in little italy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience due to worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

The service was completely disorganized and rude. The food is not worth the aggravation of their really bad customer service.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for familly or business meeting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Went there during march break with the kids, they love italian food. The service and food was awesome, we really enjoy our time, and we'll be back again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok serivce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We went to Via Roma with a large group of work colleagues and were the only people in the restaurant. The service was good, our server helped us interpret the menu and offered recommendations. Food was just ok, nothing spectacular. I would recommend if you are in the area and not too picky.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Roma also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Via Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.