We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant L'Autre Version

Restaurant L'Autre Version
295 Rue St. Paul Est, Montreal, Quebec H2Y1H1, Canada (Ville-Marie)
+1 514-871-9135
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $24 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Transit: metro Champs-de-Mars
Description: An exquisite dining experienceL'Autre Version proposes a delicious and memorable adventure by offering a unique, varied and very appealing menu, where you’ll find judicious and savoury fusions of flavours and colours. Add a wine list of over 350 carefully selected vintages, 80% of which are private imports. And you’re all invited to make unforgettable culinary discoveries in a renowned restaurant with the most beautiful terrace in Old Montreal!
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Imaginative menu, superb execution, great wine list, great location ... L'Autre Version is my favorite place to take people, whether with personal friends or business visitors, to showcase modern Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    52
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, interesting food...culinary delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve here, and had the most amazing 8-course dinner with excellent service. Unlike many tasting menus, this one was inventive, substantial and delicious. The chef uses very interesting ingredients that we hadn't heard of before (ps. we live in New York City and love the restaurant scene, so consider ourselves well-versed) like different types of berries that all paired well with main components like duck, venison, and brie flan. Lots of flavors and textures. We looked at the regular menu and decided we would definitely return next visit. Price was actually quite reasonable given the portions and high quality of the food and creativity of the chef. A final note...our servers were wonderful and seemed to be enjoying the evening as well. We all watched the fireworks together from the window overlooking the river. Perfect in every way!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“won't be back !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you are there for the ambiance, MAYBE it's the place to be, but if you are there for the food, better be ready to go somewhere else afterwards to finish your meal... Portions were ridiculously small in over-sized plates... had the taste been exquisite it would have compensated to the dwarfed portions and over-sized prices, but it didn't even meet a medium standard restaurant in that respect.... A TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT...
we all had to grab a bite somewhere else afterwards !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Whenever you read a review , 2 things you have to consider: 1. the date of the review and 2. the service. Why ? I visited this restaurant a year ago and it was a disaster, the food was so so and the service is not good. Recently I return to the restaurant because I still have some promotion coupons . This time is for casual lunch. we have gravax salmon and deep fried Brie cheese . for main dish we order Merlin fish tarrtarte . Surprisingly , the dishes are well decorated and the side ingredients like the salade is has a very fine touch and fresh , very close to some high end restaurant, they are well seasoned The raw fish tartarte is fresh and well seasoned, Portion is generous. When I got the bill , it is surprisingly inexpensive. $36 for both of us plus tips and tax. The service is attentive and patient. I shall tends to shy away from their deep fried items because they tends to over fried. I was curious to enquire about the surprise and voila they have changed the chef recently , Now his name is Mathieu (for lunch only). So you see,, time change, chef change, the service is good when you have the right person. I might return at night to check out the other chef. ( there is a lot of parking space at lunch during the week in old Montreal )

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unique food adventure. impecable service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After going there last night to celebrate my girlfriends' birthday I have to say that it was a amazing experience. Benoit - one of the owners of the place - is a walking culinary encyclopedia and clearly very passionate about the art of food - and very friendly!. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent as well. It isn't cheap but worth every penny. It's worth going for the culinary adventure with the full set of meals. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Autre Version also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant L'Autre Version? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant L'Autre Version, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.