We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal and Atmosphere Worth Coming Back for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stash Cafe

Stash Cafe
200 rue St-Paul Ouest (At rue St-Francois-Xavier), Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z9, Canada (Ville-Marie)
514-845-6611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Description: Polish cuisine done to perfection in a great atmosphere. Chip away at basic Polish dishes or dare to try more interesting options.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Meal and Atmosphere Worth Coming Back for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The food is terrific, the atmosphere could not be friendlier and the location makes it so that we spilled, content, into a beautiful Montreal night in a perfect frame of being to enjoy the historic neighborhood that surrounds Stash. I will come back whenever I can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    142
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Eastern Eurpoean food in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place is an old favorite, the perogies are even better than those of my mom & grandma. The cabbage rolls are also excellent

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent lunch featuring Beet Consumme, Mixed Green Salad, Cabbage Stew, Dumplings and Cabbage Rolls stuffed with pork and rice in this Polish restaurant in Old Montreal. Fantastic flavors, very fresh and hearty portions for a winter season lunch. Excellent beer menu as well including two local beers on tap. Atmosphere was casual, hip and comfortable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stash is one of our favorite restaurants and one of the best in Montreal. It's one of our go-to spots.

The restaurant is pretty romantic with exposed stone and a piano player cranks out lots of fun pop tunes. We always sign the big guestbook, which gives the restaurant a homey fell.

The meals are homey, hearty and delicious. A couple of years ago they rebranded the "Primer" as the "Debutante", and it is the heartiest meal on the menu. I always order extra pierogis because they are just the best restaurant pierogis around (they are actually home made).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food & ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. My boyfriend and I were in Montreal for post-Christmas / New Year's festivities and on our first night, called around 5PM for reservations at Stash Café for 7PM; we thought we may need them on a Saturday night. The man on the phone happily took our reservation (although I'm not sure we really needed one) and said "I'm afraid I can't guarantee a seat by the window." A short walk to Vieux Montreal from our hotel on Saint Antoine, and we were promptly seated at a perfect spot near the window where our table had been reserved (glad I called!). Our waiter was attentive and polite, answering our questions on portions, sides etc. The piano music added to the laid back and elegant atmosphere. We had the potato pancakes as our appetizer and they were out of this world (with the best side of applesauce I've ever had!). My boyfriend had the cheese pierogis and I had the breaded pork chop. Great portions and they were both outstanding. The side potatoes were also excellent. I encourage anyone visiting Montreal to make a stop at Café Stash for some authentic Polish comfort food in a warm, inviting environment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stash Cafe also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Stash Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stash Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.