We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best smoked meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schwartz's

Schwartz's
3895 Saint-Laurent Blvd (North of rue Prince-Arthur), Montreal, Quebec H2W 1X9, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-842-4813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 4,455 restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best smoked meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The smoked meat at Schwarts is just amazing but do not expect good service. Waiters are not worried about service, since there is often a line-up outside, but it is worth the wait because the taste and the tenderness of the meat is out of this world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    759
    548
    251
    83
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meat Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Better than Katz' in new york or 5th ave Deli. Smoked meat YO! Mix between pastrami and corned beef with communal dining. Eat meat, make friends, and leave your vegetarian friends outside.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We waited in line outside for about 20 minutes to eat in this small little space. The meat was good but the bread was dried out. The waiter recommended the blackcherry soda which truly did enhance the flavor (we thought it was just about marketing)! The downfall was we thought we had order just one family plater of food but when we got the bill it was for two - ouch! We had a C$50 lunch . . . We did have two platers so I didn't complain but we just thought that was the deal . I feel like they took advantage of the "tourist". My 13 y.o. son loved it becaues he loves good meat and coleslaw and the atmosphere was unique for us. But I warn you to know exactly what you are ordering. Parking is also a bit hard to find in the area, we needed to drive around the block a few times to find some street parking - we ended up having to walk a couple blocks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have been going for years but since there is new owners the place is slipping. Its not as good as it used to be plus the prices are crazy for a smoke meat sandwich or plate. I didn't mind paying top dollar when the meat was good but that's i for me.I can go to Abbies on the west island and get the good stuff

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Busy little place but the smoked meat sandwich is incredible. Generous serving of VERY TENDER succulent smoked brisket. DELICIOUS!! My only criticism would be there is not enough bread to accommodate the meat :)

Also if you like pepperoni, you should also try theirs. We bought both fresh and dry and will probably go back for some more fresh. Some of the best I've had and my mom owned a deli. No comparison to all the packaged crap you buy in stores and you will find it to have much less filler than any other. It isn't hot though so if you like hot pepperoni, this is not for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwartz's also viewed

 

Been to Schwartz's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schwartz's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.