We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schwartz's

Schwartz's
3895 Saint-Laurent Blvd (North of rue Prince-Arthur), Montreal, Quebec H2W 1X9, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-842-4813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 4,423 restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We waited in line outside for about 20 minutes to eat in this small little space. The meat was good but the bread was dried out. The waiter recommended the blackcherry soda which truly did enhance the flavor (we thought it was just about marketing)! The downfall was we thought we had order just one family plater of food but when we got the bill it was for two - ouch! We had a C$50 lunch . . . We did have two platers so I didn't complain but we just thought that was the deal . I feel like they took advantage of the "tourist". My 13 y.o. son loved it becaues he loves good meat and coleslaw and the atmosphere was unique for us. But I warn you to know exactly what you are ordering. Parking is also a bit hard to find in the area, we needed to drive around the block a few times to find some street parking - we ended up having to walk a couple blocks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    729
    528
    242
    80
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Have been going for years but since there is new owners the place is slipping. Its not as good as it used to be plus the prices are crazy for a smoke meat sandwich or plate. I didn't mind paying top dollar when the meat was good but that's i for me.I can go to Abbies on the west island and get the good stuff

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Busy little place but the smoked meat sandwich is incredible. Generous serving of VERY TENDER succulent smoked brisket. DELICIOUS!! My only criticism would be there is not enough bread to accommodate the meat :)

Also if you like pepperoni, you should also try theirs. We bought both fresh and dry and will probably go back for some more fresh. Some of the best I've had and my mom owned a deli. No comparison to all the packaged crap you buy in stores and you will find it to have much less filler than any other. It isn't hot though so if you like hot pepperoni, this is not for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches and over crowed. Worth the wait ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a Montrealer, I always bring visitors to this old school deli. Everyone loves it.
If you expect "Spic and Span" cleansiness and world class service, this is not a place for you. If you want a really good smoked meat sandwich with a homemade dill pickle, this is the place to be.
The waiting line can be long. The longer you wait, the better the sandwich.

On the minus side - Since it is such a popular joint, they expect you to pretty much "eat and get out" ... FAST. Never mind lounging around after your meal and talk about the weather with your buddies. Just get out fast and go visit all the bars on that same street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Often go here with guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is the best smoked meat anywhere. It's still authentically done. But if you're looking for decor and ambience, forget it. You're going, and lining up strictly for the food. They usually seat you with other people, so this is not an intimate "date" setting. However the cholesterol laden meat and fries are the best. Worth the wait -- but if you go mid to late afternoon (2-3:30pm) there is less of a wait.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwartz's also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec

Been to Schwartz's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schwartz's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.