We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Su

Restaurant Su
5145 Wellington | (6th Avenue), Montreal, Quebec H4G1Y2, Canada
514-362-1818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Su is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 4,413 restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Avenue Desmarchais
Transit: Restaurant Su is 7 minutes walking distance from Metro De L'eglise on green line. You can also take bus 58 or 61 (west bound) if you prefer not to walk after metro station.
Description: At Restaurant Su, we combine the best of Turkish cuisine to create a menu rich in tradition while adding a creative twist. Our creative dishes are delicately prepared with the freshest ingredients to ensure an enjoyable experience for all. Specialties include Turkish paté, beef, chicken, lamb, Seafood and more. Turkish cuisine is a delight to behold. We invite you to indulge and enjoy...from our family to yours.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Food was tasty and different , service was excellent and decor and music turkish... ambiance refreshing
I recommend for sure

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    36
    18
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Turkish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We dined here early on a Friday night without a reservation but the place filled up quickly so reservations are really a must on the weekend. The decor is a simple, minimalist modern with a Turkish motif. The food was really good, pleasantly spiced and ample servings. Service was also very good. We would happily pay a return visit if we are in the neighbourhood again..

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Leaving hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I went to this restaurant last week with 8 colleagues for an informal dinner.
My general impression: food is tasty, but the portions are quite small and overpriced for their size.
The majority had ordered the "Su kebap" at $24, a lamb kebab on pita bread. They seemed to be quite content, but half of the dish consisted of the same pita bread that was also served as appetizer.
One of us took the Kuzu pirzola, 2 small lamb chops for $29, nicely decorated, but not enough to feel full.
I had the Piruhi, ravioli for $18. These were 6 flat ravioli, each about half the size of my palm, which brings each piece to $3! I ate lots of bread to soak up the sauce and make the dish last longer.
Before going to the restaurant we had regretted having eaten finger food at our colleague's place who suggested Su (he had never been there but heard it had good reviews). In the end however we were happy that we already had eaten before! The overall opinion was that none of us will go back there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Turkish Food in Verdun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This turkish restaurant is a real find in a neighbourhood (Verdun) which is being slowly gentrified. The food is real good, we had great mezes (kind of turkish tapas) and the service was friendly, though a bit slow as the restaurant was full. The decor is airy, looks very mediterranean with hues of blue. For out of towners without a car, there is a metro station at about a 15 min walk away.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food, good service, perhaps a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I tried this slightly out of the way restaurant on a Thursday night. We very much enjoyed the Turquish delicacies which are prepared with utmost attention and nicely presented.
Although service was excellent, the wait was very long between each course (20 min approx). The decor is nice with hints of Turkish design but a bit sparse given the size of the room we were in. It is one big wide open space. The place was packed by 7:30 so reservations are needed.
We ordered the Meze (tapas) to share - they have a platter for two people which is great. I had the pistachio encrusted rack of lamb as a main course and my husband the kebabs. They were both excellent.

For desert I tried the sesame cream with chocolate - also very good. When we got the bill we felt it was overall pricier than lots of other nice restaurants in Montreal - in part due to the fact that they do not offer a Table d'Hote.

Overall a must try but know what to expect!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Su also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Su, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.