We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their top rating is well deserved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal

Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal
1155 Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
+1 514-788-3038
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sherbrooke and Peel
Transit: One block from Peel Metro station
Description: Located on Sherbrooke Street West, steps away from the Fine Arts Museum and McGill University. Our Executive Chef, Olivier Perret and Restaurant Director Stefano Raggi are glad to present you ’Renoir’. Jean-Talon market local products mixed with the chef Burgundy culture, create The Montreal's gastronomic modern and De-Light experience for you and your guest to experiment. Be Magnifique, Be our Guest and became a Renoir Ambassador. Situé sur Sherbrooke Ouest, à deux pas du musée des Beaux-Arts et de l'université McGill. Notre Chef Executif, Olivier Perret ainsi que notre directeur du restaurant Stefano Raggi sont heureux de vous présenter ‘Renoir’. Les produits locaux du marché Jean-Talon mixé avec la culture bourguignonne du Chef crée L'Experience gastronomique moderne et De-Light de Montréal pour vous et vous invités. Be Magnifique, soyez notre invité, devenez un ambassadeur du Renoir.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Their top rating is well deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staff and management do a super job and the food is excellent. Don't miss the outside terrace it is a great place to sit and enjoy dinner and drinks.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Bonjour WyoPete,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your visit at Renoir Restaurant.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    50
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

During my stay in the superb Sofitel Montréal le Carré Doré I had dinner in the ‘Renoir’. The food and wine were excellent and the service was outstanding. The staff made you feel home and no request to change a detail of a dish was welcomed with a smile. I highly recommend this restaurant if you love fine dining

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Bonjour Jean M,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your visit at Renoir Restaurant.

Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Stéphanie Segoura
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

innovative quality food, great service, lots of atmosphere, a Montreal gem. Never leave without a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Bonjour Philippe M,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so lucky to have Chef Olivier Perret as part of the team and are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed his menu.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A new menu for great food lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was lucky enough to participate in a food tasting session of Chef Olivier Perret's new menu at the Renoir. Every course we tried was delicate, imaginative and made our taste buds rejoice! We were fortunate to get comments from Chef Perret himself who pays so much attention to the quality of the products he uses and adapts his menus to what's best for the season. We each had our favorite course, however, the "rable de lapin au chorizo" was unanimously voted the best rabbit we ever had...The truite tartare with a black truffle toast was so delicate, I can still smell the truffle! Service was wonderful and friendly, every body was trying to make our experience one to remember fondly and we do! Thank you so much to Chef Perret for organizing this event. This was a wonderful evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Bonjour Myriam P,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so lucky to have Chef Olivier Perret as part of the team and are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed his menu.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Inventive & dynamic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Renoir is NOT a Hotel restaurant.

Renoir IS a CHEF Restaurant in a nice hotel.

Inventive and changing accordingly to the each seasons the menu reflects the dynamism of a young team led by it's chef Olivier Perret.

Perret brings back from the "market" what his worth for us to have in our plate. Making sure to add a french "je ne sais quoi" to it ...

The team in the restaurant (and in the bar) brings a professional and delicate "service" touch to the meals.

Thank you all !

ps: special note to the now "legendary" sunday brunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMontreal, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Bonjour SigisB,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so lucky to have Chef Olivier Perret as part of the team and are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed his menu.

We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Stephanie SEGOURA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.