We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and outstanding service, depending on the server” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal

Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal
1155 Sherbrooke Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
+1 514-788-3038
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,506 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: French, International, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sherbrooke and Peel
Transit: One block from Peel Metro station
Description: Located on Sherbrooke Street West, steps away from the Fine Arts Museum and McGill University. Our Executive Chef, Olivier Perret and Restaurant Director Stefano Raggi are glad to present you ’Renoir’. Jean-Talon market local products mixed with the chef Burgundy culture, create The Montreal's gastronomic modern and De-Light experience for you and your guest to experiment. Be Magnifique, Be our Guest and became a Renoir Ambassador. Situé sur Sherbrooke Ouest, à deux pas du musée des Beaux-Arts et de l'université McGill. Notre Chef Executif, Olivier Perret ainsi que notre directeur du restaurant Stefano Raggi sont heureux de vous présenter ‘Renoir’. Les produits locaux du marché Jean-Talon mixé avec la culture bourguignonne du Chef crée L'Experience gastronomique moderne et De-Light de Montréal pour vous et vous invités. Be Magnifique, soyez notre invité, devenez un ambassadeur du Renoir.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food and outstanding service, depending on the server”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food deserves 5 stars, and the service depends on the server. Nicolas definitely earns 5 stars, as do most other servers, but Martine was abrupt and impatient, and frankly, for a restaurant that is certainly excellent, one does expect faultless service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, General Manager at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Bonjour Pancho8,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we have passed on your feedback to our Restaurant Manager concerning the waiters. Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Renoir, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Christopge Gras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    48
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Standout hotel restaurant with a power breakfast scene.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Most hotels have a restaurant that seems designed only to prey on the laziness of their guests.
Le Renoir, located in one of Montreal's better hotels, rises far above and is home to Montreal's pre-8:30am power scene. The food is great and service highly attentive, though you certainly pay for it
Lunch and dinner are also quite good but there are a lot of good options elsewhere.
The patio area in summer is great since its a but back from the street making you feel urban without the exhaust fumes.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bonjour RyokoVoyageur,

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon to Montréal and Renoir restaurant.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"IMPRESS" YOURSELF WITH RENOIR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nestled in the elegant Sofitel Hotel in Montreal is a lovely lovely restaurant RENOIR where the food is delicious, the ambience chic and the service impeccable.

With a reservation for lunch, we were given a choice of 3 tables in various spots. That IMPRESSED me. The waiter informed us of the specials in a humorous friendly way. The variety consisted of meat or chicken or fish and the description of each was mouth watering. Of course there is the varied menu to choose from. We all chose mau-mau (not sure of the spelling) which was the fish. I had a large house salad and the others had a cream cauliflower soup. The presentation is IMPRESSIVE...beautiful plates, the meal arranged lovingly...not huge portions but just enough to make way for desserts to die for..very IMPRESSIVE. The desserts are brought to you on a large elegant platter and each one is a masterpiece....chocolate ice cream with shavings topped by a lemon plum....mmmmm. I had an apple cobbler type square topped with a cone shaped flam.
Wonderful coffee and the pot is left at your table.
The price without any wine was $123 for 3...so it's not for every day but makes a reason to celebrate.
Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bonjour dude49,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Renoir Restaurant, we really appreciate all feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity once again to provide you with the "Magnifique" experience enjoyed by the majority or our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived at the Sofitel after traveling all day. We were tired and hungry and didn't want to go far but don't usually trust a hotel restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised. We shown to a nice table and once we ordered cocktails, were brought some good 'nibbles'. Dinner was excellent. I had the halibut and my husband had the risotto which we both enjoyed. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and very good. Wish we had time to eat here again before we left.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Bonjour xadgal,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the menu. We're looking forward to even more delicious changes to come and look forward to having you back to indulge again soon at Renoir Restaurant.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Name says it All !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are looking for different, this is the restaurant for you. The chef basically uses the Local produce to make his fantastics dishes. It is incredible what you can do with vegetables. The dishes are extraordinary and the restaurant is very warm. There wine list is very large and you will most likely find something that you have not had in a long time. Try having a drink after your dinner in there lounge area it is very relaxing .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Bonjour AmirAli_12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Renoir Restaurant, we really appreciate all feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you may have an opportunity once again to enjoy a "Magnifique" experience shared by the majority or our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renoir - Sofitel Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.