We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but be perpared to pay for it..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse

La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse
1181 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1P1, Canada
+1 514-390-0091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,044 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St Catherine
Transit: Douze Vingt-et-Un is in close vicinity to Lucien-Lallier, Bonaventure, and Peel Metro Stations, across the street from Windsor Train Station and a short walk from 'Gare Centrale'.
Description: La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse & Cigar Bar is one of Canada’s premier fine dining steakhouse restaurants specializing in dry-aged USDA Prime beef and fresh seafood. Located in downtown Montreal, every detail has been carefully considered for your comfort. Notable for its decor, excellent service, outstanding cuisine, award winning wine cellar and the incomparable Cigar Lounge, La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse & Cigar Bar is the ultimate destination for celebration. The Montreal Tea Room is a state-of-the-art private dining and conferencing facility, reserved exclusively for private and corporate events.Please note that we are currently closed for renovations and we will be re opening this fall at our new location at 181 rue de la Montagne.
Welland, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good but be perpared to pay for it..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were there for dinner, ordered the lobster and two NY strip stakes, food was very good, no complaints whatsoever, but found it expensive....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    62
    40
    32
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It's not everyday you eat a 5 pound lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The oysters were tasty! The porterhouse was good. The star of the show was the East Coast lobster weighing in at 5 pounds.

The only negative - the waiter did not know how to pour beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“WOW !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

La Queue de Cheval has mixed reports ,however we visited on Thursday evening during Grand Prix weekend in June .The service was excellent , the steak was superb, desserts of la queue de cheval cheesecake were quality .3 starters ,3 steaks with sides, desserts with a good bottle wine around £120 each .It was quite expensive but was excellent overall .The waiters were on hand and explained the cuts of steak. The restaurant manager came over to make sure everything was okay .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Steakhouse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I used to love this steakhouse, but my very recent visit was utterly horrible. The appetizers were bad and the steaks were smelly. When we complained, the bald manager was very rude to us; he used the [--] word a couple of times and seemed to be on drugs. Never going back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went to La Queue de Cheval on Saturday night of Grand Prix weekend. We were very excited to go there as we had heard good things over the years from many other people. When I heard they were in a temporary location I was a bit concerned, but thought we'd give it a go on a "boys weekend" in Montreal. They are very disorganized and called to confirm our reservation at least 6 times. The temporary location is OK, but way too crowded and rundown - the bathroom stalls are broken, ran out of hand towles etc. this is not high end if you ask me. Our seating was terrible stuffed in a corner on a busy hallyway right beside the constantly opening door to the wine storage. There was nothing else available and they then insinuated that we'd moved our table blocking the walkway & wine door entry which we had, 2 of us are 6'4". This leads to my main problem with this restaurant it was very clear from most, not all, but most of the staff that it is more about them than it is about the clients. The service was poor and the majority of the men on staff were extremely arrogant. The highlight of the dinner was the selections from the raw bar which were very good. They did not have the first wine that we tried to order then they didn't have the veal chop that I tried to order. My two friends had the filet which they both said was dry and lacked flavour I had the Kansas cut New york which was mediocre at best. The sides were OK except for the fried (not sauted) onions. Our second bottle of wine never did come and the staff never notice because no one bothered to check on our meal anyway. I don't need to get into any more details I think you get the picture. All in all very disappointing this was a perfect case of people thinking they are high end yet being very low rent. Bottom line is taht money doesn't by class and Queue de Cheval is lacking in class and quality. I have bee very fortunate to dine in some fantastic restaurants in many great cities that I would return to againa and again. This is not one of them. Should have gone to Garde Manger two nights in a row or perhaps an old school place like Moishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Queue de Cheval Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.