We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at affordable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Bac 97

Pho Bac 97
1016 St Laurent, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Ville-Marie)
514-393-8116
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 4,508 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food at affordable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a good restaurant if you are in Chinatown, are hungry and don't have much money. The service is fast and plentiful. If you are expecting refined food, I would suggest going elselwhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Average Food But Fast Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We chanced upon this restaurant while touring China Town. We chose it since we noticed that there were quite a number of customers inside(which we thought was an indication of good food).Incidentally, there are quite a number of Vietnamese restaurants near the Chinatown Welcome Arch

Compared to the Vietnamese restaurants that we frequent in Toronto, this restaurant is just average although I would say their service is fast(less than 10 minutes our order was served).There was not enough condiments on the very small table(no chili sauce and Vietnamese fish sauce that I am accustomed to).

The place is quite small with white tables that would remind you of typical interiors of Chinatown restaurants.

In Toronto a small bowl of Pho costs about $6 but here its $7.50 and I still have to pay $4 for half an hour of parking in Chinatown which makes dining in this place quite expensive. My husband ordered combo rice and pork chop which was served in a very small plate. We paid $24 for a small bowl of Pho(the $6 Pho in Toronto is way bigger), 2 fresh spring rolls ,rice/pork combo and 1 soda.

Incidentally, they dont serve fried rice. The menu is quite limited.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Vermicelli soup with the beef flank is the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fast service and good food, decor is plain, but you can eat and run, tables Are cramped together in a small restaurant. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vietnamese value for money!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food for an excellent price! May look a little dingy but great food, great price & great service!! Huge portions! Staff very understanding when I needed to leave to get cash to pay!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very authentic Vietnamese food in a great location. Service was excellent, food fresh, and while it is nothing fancy, the restaurant is clean, and you know that people are there for the food, not some faux Asian, atmosphere. Great prices too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Bac 97 also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pho Bac 97? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Bac 97, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.