We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nickels

Nickels
710 Ste-Catherine O., Montreal, Quebec H3A 2A4, Canada
514.871.2899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #789 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

2 adults 2 older children
Kids burger (bun toasted burnt) fries orange pop
Natchos . They would not offer a half size portion or it in a kids meal as it was for a child even though they did not want any of the toppings but cheese. Nachos came out barely any cheese and burnt in areas. A lot for $12
I ordered chicken wings, i have never seen such small wings they looked like budgie wings. When i complained the waiter said you should of seen them before they were even smaller. No blue cheese dressing given for them claiming its Montreal.
Before ordering the Ceasar salad i asked if it was homemade and he assured it was. There was NO taste! He claimed others thought there was too much garlic and must be my taste buds. I was then offered a package of Rene's greek dressing to put over my salad,
My friend ordered a quarter chicken dinner was was edible.

Bathrooms were very dirty and dark in the hallway.
Will not return. We went here for family dining good portions homemade hearty meal and was very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    37
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chateauguay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“With A Little Bit Of Effort This Could Be A Better Resataurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant of Monday October 21st with two of our friends who were visiting from Victoria BC. One of them was originally from Montreal so he knows how good our restaurants can be. This restaurant needs to be spruced up. We have often eaten in other restaurants in the chain, notably the one in Ste-Adele and we like the ambience. The food and service here wasn't bad but something was missing. Considering its location, I feel that with a little effort, this establishment could be upgraded several notches and I am sure that business will benefit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Really Good Breakfast for a Really Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our breakfast of coffee, french toast, hash browns and smoked meat (never had that one before). The prices were good, the service was good, and we were completely satisfied to the point that we skipped lunch. Thinking that we may be visiting here one more time before heading back to the US...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice fifties style diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food and atmosphere were great. We had a great time and they have some awesome deserts. Very friendly staff and the decorations are cool.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great food and service at a reasonable cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had an evening meal here and tried the steak& vegies as well as the fish & chips. The meal had great servings complimented by quick and friendly service. The waiter attended us on a number of occasions to ensure that everything was satisfactory.

The atmosphere is based on the rock & roll era of the fifties/sixties (booths) and more importantly, the place was clean and fresh. It is popular during the luch hour so we did the evening meal - a great time to relax and enjoy the meal with some beer and wine. A really nice touch is that they have menus in both english and french and if you happen ask for english - they treat you with respect and don't look down on you (as some others do). Well done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickels also viewed

 

Been to Nickels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.