We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Molivos

Molivos
2310 Rue Guy, Montreal, Quebec H3H2M2, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 846-8818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #324 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Food was unimaginative with poor presentation . I was disappointed I didn't spend my evening at one of the many great restaurants in Montreal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always nice seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friends had recommended this restaurant to us several years ago. It is very convenient to our hotel and within walking distance. Food is always good and seafood is fresh and nicely prepared. Price is reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Go Fishing at Molivos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Molivos is a sleepy little Greek restaurant in the Ville-Marie district. This is actually my second visit, the first being 2 years ago. It has a small menu but I would not recommend going here unless you want fish for dinner. The fish of the day is listed on a chalk board but the tray will be brought out for you to make a selection. Prices are by the pound so be careful in ordering as a 2 lb fish will run you over $50 but will also serve two people. We had their Greek salad and it was excellent as were the dolmades. The fish is grilled and served simply with lemon and a few capers, accompanied by some delicious giant lima beans. Only poor part of the meal was the bread, which was served toasted. We like warm bread but their bread is dry and bland - dipping in olive oil does not help much. This is something they should and could easily fix. Definitely worth a stop for a Greek fish dinner if in the area and the prices are pretty reasonable relative to other restaurants in this expensive area of Montreal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food wasn't anything special, the staff spent most of their time socializing in the back, and the table clothes and cutlery were dirty. The Prices were really high for the quality of food. Not worth it at all! I felt ripped off after I left....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice greek restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've been once to Molivos and I enjoyed it! The fish was fresh and perfectly prepared, the greek salad was very tasty and the loukoumades are better than the ones I had in Greece! They make them crunchier than the usual preparation. Love it!
The place is very small and casual, the decor gives you the feeling you a in a typical greek tavern.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molivos also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Molivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molivos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.