We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modavie

Modavie
1 St Paul W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Y6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-287-9582
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, French, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I were visiting from Toronto for the weekend and had heard good things about this place. Great atmosphere, attentive and friendly service, awesome food (we had steak frites and shrimp risotto) and great location - what more could you want? We also loved the live jazz!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    385
    95
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Have been twice to Modavie and planning a third trip, it was so good. Manager from Bari in the heal of Italy runs a tight ship and is hands on in helping the service and encouraging the guests. Service therefore is attentive without being obtrusive. The food we had was amazing - lamb being a speciality and the Valpolicella do Ripasso red wine a perfect accompaniment. Would recommend any traveler to Montreal to visit Modavie.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Worst Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Terrible service. Cold soup. Beat salad had no beats. Save yourself the trip to this tourist trap. Pepper with that and no pepper ever came.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
945 helpful votes 945 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I had heard good things about Modavie and was looking forward to taking our out of town guests for dinner. Right from the start things went sideways. They were confused about our reservation and didn't have a place set aside for us. I had asked for a quieter table, which they said they could accommodate. However we ended up walking through the restaurant being asked if we would like this table or that. Definitely no table had been reserved, quiet or otherwise. Service was slow. Meals were basic and bland looking and not hot. We all had fish and I wonder if their lamb selections are the one dish they put effort into. We asked for a second bottle of the same wine and were told they had run out. This was on a Thursday evening. That's when we checked out and went somewhere else for dessert. I'm usually willing to let some things slide in a restaurant but there were just too many things this evening that didn't add up. Sorry but it's not a keeper for me.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“To be fair, should be 3.5!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Saturday evening in Old Montreal. Most of the glowing reviews are correct - good location and vibe, good food, good value, service was good and easy booking.

But..our main reason for going there was to have dinner whilst listening to jazz - with our table on the ground floor and the music upstairs, apart from the occasional drift of the singer's voice and a few notes of a piano, that's about the closest we got to jazz

Recommendation is that when making a reservation, book upstairs if you like jazz with your food or downstairs if you're not fussed about the music.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modavie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.