We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try when in Old Port~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modavie

Modavie
1 St Paul W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Y6, Canada (Ville-Marie)
+1 514-287-9582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 4,549 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
1 review
“Must try when in Old Port~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The ambience, service, music, drinks, food was amazing. It was comfortable without being stuffy.
Pros: Live band, beautifully done, great location, no cover charge. Easy reservation. Really good food. Yes, Lamb is their speciality. Pls, do try it. Cons: The ONLY let down was their dessert. The Tiramisu was a HUGE let down. No good restaurant should make it with whipped cream and call it a Tiramisu. Should have gone for the Chocolate Ganache w. Ice cream but I was too stuffed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    339
    84
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“la vie en rose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I happened into one of the most lovely evenings I've ever had at Modavie last night. It is a gorgeous restaurant that is perfect for a group or a single person like me looking for a nice place to have dinner at the bar. Manager Lorenzo is very dedicated to making sure that each customer's experience is wonderful and Sonia at the bar is as sweet and kind as she is efficient and talented. As for my meal, the filet was cooked perfectly, in a way that brought heaven just a little closer to earth as I enjoyed every bite. The warm chocolate fondant dessert was also one of the most satisfying desserts I've ever had. To tie it all in a bow, the music at Modavie is just beautiful. Not too loud, so you can speak to dining partners, but you feel as if you've been transported to Paris for the evening. I could not recommend Modavie more highly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived without a reservation on a busy night but two different (and very busy) people - the bartender and the owner - made it their business to accommodate us. Modavie has a great atmosphere: there was live jazz playing to a lively and friendly crowd. The service was great and the food wonderful. We have already made plans to go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An atmospheric Italian style bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place came highly recommended from a local friend and also by our hotel. The live jazz duo were great and at just the right volume even when we were sitting next to them! The service was attentive and the food enjoyable without being remarkable. The best thing about the restaurant was that it would be good for any occasion or any number of people - busy enough to be pleasant if you're dining alone, but great for couples or groups also. I went with my 11 year-old daughter and we both left happy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic meal & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had an lovely evening at Modavie last night. The food was amazing and the music was delightful. My husband had the lamb shank, I had the mushroom risotto and we both loved it. Thanks to Lorenzo for accommodating us! We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modavie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.