We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place we liked in Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modavie

Modavie
1 St Paul W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Y6, Canada (Ville-Marie)
+1 514-287-9582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only place we liked in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went for Christmas dinner. Waitress was friendly (which was a change from most people in Montreal) and the food was good. Lamb was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    341
    84
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great start to Montreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Mondavie provided great food, service and atmosphere!!!! We were welcomed by charming Lorenzo and the superb service continued. Delicious and delightful!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Simply Wonderful ...Quaint ... Awesome service ... Great food ... Amazing location ... Old Montreal ... Very romantic setting ... Enough said ... Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Found the restaurant while walking around Old Montreal in the snow. It was busy, but we were able to get a seat around 8:30pm without a reservation. Bistro type decor with live music upstairs. The wine selection is decent with several offerings from Italy, France and the U.S. As in most of Montreal, the markup is pretty high. The menu is bistro-style. The steak frites with shallot sauce was quite good, even though the steak was flank steak (waitress warned me beforehand). The mushroom risotto was also tasty. The apple tartin for dessert was delightful.

The service was ok, but they forgot to bring us our starter. We mentioned this when the main course was delivered, only to be told that they could bring the starter, but our main course would get cold. We opted against that choice. A better service establishment would have either prepared another main course or offered us a free drink or dessert.

I would not prevent this from me going back, as it was a nice place and the food was good, but the service can be spotty.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Class and elegance in old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Make reservations for dinner, or just stop by for great wine, atmosphere and music.

The rillette appetizer was wonderful. The staff is savvy enough to encourage a wine choice early so the wine can breathe while you listen to the live jazz!

The lamb suggested by Lorenzo is out of this world! Finishing off with the tarte tatin and ice cider finished off the evening nicely....except for the port offered by staff as a thank you.

People must come by this excellent restaurant in old Montreal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modavie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.