We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modavie

Modavie
1 St Paul W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Y6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-287-9582
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, French, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Quintessential Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good food made for a really good night at Modavie in Old Montreal. They had live Jazz playing upstairs as well as an excellent selection of wine. Our food was delicious (Mushroom Risotto and Spaghetti Bolognese along with French Onion Soup and an Endive Salad). Lorenzo, the manager, was a very gracious host and consistently checked up on us without being an interruption. I would recommend this place to others and would certainly go back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    385
    94
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the city, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We can't say enough good things about this place. To us, EASILY the best restaurant in Montreal. We've gone back 4 or 5 times in the last few months. Most importantly, the food is fantastic every time. You owe it to yourself to try the salmon tournedos on risotto with lentels... Tons of variety on the menu.

The decor is hard to describe... small, cozy, very classy, with a vintage jazz look on both floors. Awesome live music that set the perfect atmosphere; not too loud that it was distracting, but just present enough that we'd often catch ourselves stopping to comment on how great the singer was.

Impeccable service. The manager that usually greets us is a guy called Lorenzo. Warmest welcome we ever get when we go out to dinner. Very friendly bilingual staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This has to be one of best nights in Montreal . We ate upstairs near the band who provided a blend of perfect music. Waiter was at attentive and helped us with great selections. Lorenzo the owner came to our table and was gracious and made us feel at home. Food was great and well presented. I certainly enjoyed the red snapper and my wife had mussels in a wine sauce. The band played a song upon my request, and we even had an impromptu dance as we enjoyed our 50th anniversary night here. Crowd was of all ages and friendly. Try it and you will not be disappointed. Just don't forget to make reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
“Modavie rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had the best night in Montreal at this restaurant. Waiter was attentive and courteous. Live music was absolutely amazing- they took our song requests and we loved them. The specialty lamb was perfect and the waiter kept up with our drink requests. Lorenzo was our man- warm and welcoming. A must go to restaurant!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of dinning at Modavie last week while visiting Montreal. This restaurant has a varied menue, my husband and I were both very pleased with our selections. In addition to the food the owner was very friendly, kind and was great with our 20 month old daughter. Lastly, the live music was great... the icing on the cake!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modavie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.