We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modavie

Modavie
1 St Paul W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Y6, Canada (Ville-Marie)
+1 514-287-9582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 4,460 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: French, Italian, Mediterranean, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Beaconsfield, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had such a good time. We were celebrating an anniversary. After walking in Old Montreal in November, it was nice to seat down for supper. It was nice that Lorenzo mentionned our anniversary and talked to us about the various music themes. Very Enjoyable. We will definitively go back as we live in West Island Montreal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    293
    74
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food, music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First, if you make plans to eat here, make sure to get a reservation for upstairs. That's where the jazz band plays. You can hear them downstairs, but it's not nearly the same experience. We sat downstairs and had a good time, but really would rather have been upstairs. That was my fault, since we decided last minute to eat here and there were no more tables available upstairs.

The food was quite good, particularly some of the pasta dishes. There was plenty to pick from on the wine list, even by the glass. The atmosphere was nice ... quaint with an old, authentic jazz-club feel to it. The service was prompt, polite, and even personable (which I found isn't always the case in Montreal). The location is fantastic if you feel like walking around the old city before or after eating. Overall, I thought it was a solid choice for dining in Vieux Montreal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at this restaurant. Excellent service. Thank you to Lorenzo! We will be back. Amazing food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vieux Montreal Jazz and Lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are on our last of five nights in Montreal, staying at the excellent Auberge Bonaparte. Since we fly out tomorrow we were interested in a restaurant preferably with music and within walking distance. Modavie was one of two such places our concierge suggested. The music this evening was a female singer and guitar accompanist. The music was a pleasure to listen to while we enjoyed a lovely meal. Lamb is the specialty at this Greek-style restaurant and the cutlets did not disappoint. My wife had an excellent chicken piccata.

Lorenzo, the maitre d', made everyone feel at home. The service was on the same level as the food. Perfect and unhurried.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service, charming bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After walking around Old Montreal for a bit, my boyfriend and I stopped in here for a drink. We ordered a bottle of wine and an appetizer. The waiter was fantastic as was Lorenzo, the sommelier. When Lorenzo saw me playing with the wine bottle label, he offered to steam it so it would come off clean and I could have a nice little souvenir. The food was great too.

Overall, it's was a charming, romantic place in the heart of Old Montreal

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modavie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.