We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servicable dim sum in Montreal Chinatown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Fung Maison

Kam Fung Maison
1111 Rue Saint-Urbain, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1Y6, Canada (Chinatown)
(514) 878-2888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #751 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Servicable dim sum in Montreal Chinatown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Because it is the most highly rated dim sum in Montreal on several web sites, we ate at Kam Fung Maison on a Sunday morning. The restaurant became gradually more crowded so that by the time we left there were people waiting for tables. Dim sum carts come around quickly and efficiently. Service is friendly. The dim sum items are rather larger than those we generally prefer and we found them just fine but not exceptional. If you have a hankering for dim sum you can get your fix here. If you are looking for something extra special then Montreal may not be the place to get it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    77
    30
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Dim-Sun Chinois”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

C'est correct, mais pas très bon comme à New York, comes from Guangdong Province in Southern China. Cantonese cuisine is the best known outside China; most "Chinese restaurants" in Western countries serve authentic Cantonese cuisine and dishes based on it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quick and friendly service, good food, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had a lovely dim sum for starters. Most of the dim sum I have tasted is in Torontos china town and this was very nice. Main course was deep fried tentacles. Very nice. Would have preferred them without the batter, but still good. Our server was friendly and quick.

Not a lot of bells and whistles to the restaurant and if you are a Mandarin or King Buffet person, you may be surprised.

A lot of chines people eat here clearly, so it is geared to their taste, not Canadian Chinese

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Over-rated by most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Arrived for a weekday lunch at 12:30pm and sure enough the place was packed and we to wait 15 minutes for a table for two people. As soon as we were seated the (cheap plastic) carts began to trundle by. The food selection was decent but the quality was only so-so. For example, the chicken feet were enormous and had a good flavor, but the meat wasn't tender. Other foods had their own flaws related to texture or tenderness. The egg tarts were pleasing, I can say that. If we lived in Montreal we'd probably go back, but it's not worth raving about as so many reviewers do.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I'll never go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had previously enjoyed the dim sum but when I went back for dinner it was a different experience. Was served the soup in a side room and waited over 30 minutes without anyone returning to take dinner order. I put down enough money for two soups and attempted to leave but was barked at that I had neglected to leave a tip. Aside from being on the wrong end of poor service and incredibly bad public relations, I presumed that the wait staff must be on the wrong end of oppressive employment. Normally, I would not think of stiffing a wait staff, but I received essentially no service and the food was not so outstanding that I can overlook the last experience.
I left a tip and will never go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Fung Maison also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kam Fung Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Fung Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.