We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucca

Lucca
12 Dante, Montreal, Quebec H2S 1J5, Canada (Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie)
+1 514-278-6502
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #402 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Exceptional Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've eaten here twice in the last 6 weeks. This is an excellent upscale Italian restaurant near the Jean Talon Market, not cheap but very definitely worth the price. Being vegetarian, we had real limited options on the daily menu the first time we went, and the waiter suggested that the cook could make vegetarian risotto (without meat stock) or various pasta dishes that were not listed for us. I had wild mushroom risotto - by far the best I've ever had in Montreal or elsewhere - truly exceptional - and my wife and daughter opted for two different sorts of pasta; they were equally enthralled. We took a French friend with us the second time, and she wants to take other friends from France there, saying that it is the best restaurant she has tried in Montreal in the past 8 months. Desserts were also good, but not as memorable as the main dishes. Good wine too, that isn't too overpriced for Montreal (a 2 - 2.5 times mark-up). Bottom line: make reservations and try this place out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Value For Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location on Dante street makes for difficult parking and the parking police catch violators; be warned. However, the restaurant islef is a gem. The food is clearly fresh, authentic, tasty and well presented. The service is reasonably fast but friendly and attentive. Dollar for dollar, thiss ithe best Italian food in Montreal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great food & dessert! Amazing service! Get a little too loud when it's a full house, but the food and service easily cover over the noise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Yes its a small place but with BIG flavor. The hardest part is deciding what to eat. Well maybe its getting a place to park, LOL. Very nice wine list at good prices. Yum.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lucca's dining room is small but cozy with a touch of rustic charm. I like their rocket salad and especially their calamari. The latter is very tender with a crispy tempura like coating. My main dish "jarret d'agneau" was good but so copious that i can only finish half of it. If i had known beforehand, i wouldn't order other dishes in order to fully enjoy my lamb shank.

Wine list is not extensive and very affordable. Service is fast and professional. Valet parking is a big plus.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.