We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average french cuisine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Restaurant

Paris Restaurant
1812 Rue Sainte-Catherine O, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1M1, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 937-4898
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #815 of 4,550 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Montreal
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average french cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went as a group of six for a business lunch. Nobody greeted us so we assumed that the only table left open (since we had a reservation) was for our group so we just sat down. Never saw a menu. Took a while for the waiter to clue in that we had arrived. Food was good but not extraordinary. I felt it was overpriced for what they were offering. Nothing stood out. Took a long time to get our bills and half of the group had their bills with error, over charges, etc. Saving grace is you can bring your own wine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good, and BYOB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in town on business and only had one evening, so just drove to the city, found a parking space and walked around with no plans, but looking for French cuisine. This restaurant was busy so I went in. The service was good I thought. Courteous and timely. My meal came out in good time. The Fench Onion soup was excellent and the beef bourguignon was decent.

For not having reservations, this was a great spot given my situation. BYOB.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, long waits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We ate here on a recent trip to Montreal. The food, when it came at last, was good -- nothing extraordinary -- but we sat there for hours.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“ok-good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

good service but a little overprice. Well located althought it`s hard to find parking in the weekends.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Le Paris a real French Cuisine restaurant in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My family and myself have been going to Le Paris on Ste-Catherine Street for decades, we knew the old owner and his wife and now the new owners the 2 chefs in the kitchen Frédéric Paguet and Franck Laroche continue the great classic French cuisine tradition. I cannot remember one bad meal or dish that was not wonderful. They also have their daily specials and on the board you will see other specialties they prepare. Everything is fresh and well done no second class dishes here. Good solid service with professional waiters who know their profession. The decor is traditional and you feel you are in Europe. A wonderful place to go to for a great meal with friends, family or just by yourself. All for a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.