We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful all around dining experience !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pegase

Le Pegase
1831 Rue Gilford, Montreal, Quebec H2H 1G6, Canada
514 522 0487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of the Plateau for 25 years, Le Pégase is renowned for its fine French cuisine and a selection of meats cooked to perfection. You can bring your own wine, so ... be your own sommelier and select your favorite bottles!The decor and atmosphere are welcoming and friendly. A romantic evening between lovers or a convivial moment for friends conjugate there perfectly.--In the kitchenThe owner-chef Michael Audet-Laparé is illustrated in many restaurants (Chez Victoire, Le Quartier General, Laurie-Raphaël, Grenadine) before investing in command of Le Pégase. Assisted by Jean-Luc Peyrotes, he applies, every day, to work fine seasonal ingredients on the well-kept cooking and to express his taste for the culinary innovation and the marriages of flavors. In the dining-roomDamien Haennel, associated owner, orchestrates the service and its rhythm with a lightness tinged with twenty years of experience in catering. A good mood and a professionalism which favors the friendly reception of our duet of waiters, Johann and Morgane.
montreal, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful all around dining experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My partner and I gave this bring your own wine gem of a restaurant a try for early service prior to a play. It is quite small and intimate with a warm, unpretentious atmosphere.
Our waiter, although well-intentioned, was somewhat disorganised and slow at opening our wine bottle and taking our orders but our meals were glorious: we opted for the lighter 'petite table' rather than the 'table gourmande' with foie gras & scallops appetizers and veal & the fish suggestion du chef entrees, all of which cooked and presented to perfection and highly recommended.
The tab was quite reasonnable and we just wish we could have lingered, sipping our wine and enjoying the intimate atmosphere, had it not been for a show to catch but we fully intend to go back for more!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    18
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appetizers weren't bad but the main courses and desserts...hmmm...too special !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The appetizers weren't bad (soup, salad and scallops with curry sauce), which gave us a little bit more hope. But when our 4 plates of Foie gras (goose liver) came out, 4 of us had a feeling we just had to say goodbye to those plates right away: They were all black and totally dried. 100% disappointed! After that, nothing was better.The meat of the duck just bounced back on my teeth when trying to tear that piece apart. The waiter brought back the plate into the kitchen and said if we order the same thing, it might came out with the same result - probably that duck wasn't ready to let us have him - so i let go this one. I don't remember if our steak were juicy or not but i keep in mind it was not easy to chew + the sauce that came with it was just too liquidy. Before paying, we had 2 desserts - creme brulee and cheese cake. I can't describe the cheese cake, but i surely remember nobody likes it; the creme brulee just totally depressed 4 of us. My best description of the creme brulee was "someone vomit some couscous". Sorry for the fans of "Le Pegase", you might had great plates but too bad the resto doesn't welcome us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite neighbourhood resto, a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We live a few blocks away from the Pegase and actually first found it by stumbling upon it. We've never regretted that accident since! It is reliably high quality food, charming decor, very attentive waiters who know us by name, intimate and very good quality:price ratio. The menu is very small and not particularly vegetarian friendly: usually one white meat, one beef, one or two game and one or two fish (or seafood) options. It is best to get their table d'hote which provides an amazing meal for under $40. All mains come with a choice of daily fresh soup or salad. If you get the table d'hote you also get a starter and dessert for an additional $10-$12. Be careful- don't eat too much of the delicious amuze bouche they offer you (usually a pate or something simliar) and their delicious bread as you won't make it through to their elegant and divine desserts. They want their diners to have an amazing experience- I call ahead and make requests and they've always found a way to accommodate my requests from a special desert to a menu with no seafood. Go there. You won't regret it. Best part- it is BYO wine so the price becomes even better value as you can get delicious choices a block down the road at the SAQ selection and not pay the heavy restaurant mark-ups.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Unexpected Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

What a delightful out of the way resturaunt. Hard to find but well worth the effort. The Chef Marie Audree Dion makes the most out of her small Kitchen. We were fortunate enough to be seated where we could watch her prepare the dishes and this was worth the price of admission. But the food - oh my - what a treat. Though it was a limited menu what she produced was heavenly. From foie gras to Death by Chocolate everything was outstanding. At our table for 4, we each had something different and shared. I wish I could have eaten all of everything.

This resturant should be on everyones "must eat at list."

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
“Delicious "bring your own wine" for lovers of meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

In summer, the outdoor terrace is fun. I had Kangaroo and my husband had deer tenderloin. The soup entree was fab.
The location is not that great (residential street), but once inside the resto, the atmosphere is nice.
This is one of our favorite places to eat in Montreal (we live here). Bring your own wine. For under between $31- $45, you get 3 courses.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pegase also viewed

 

Been to Le Pegase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pegase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.