We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food, a little pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Nil Bleu

Le Nil Bleu
3706 St Denis, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
+1 514-285-4628
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African, Vegetarian, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, a little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have had Ethiopian food at different place. This place is good, very tasty food. We went there on a very busy night and the service was good as well. I would like to go there more but it is pricy for students.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    75
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Tasty and Healthy Dining Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love eating in restaurants that offer me a dining experience I don't often have. Le Nil Bleu is an Ethiopian restaurant located on the ground floor of the extraordinary Hotel Kotuma in the heart of the Plateau district of Montreal. The restaurant itself is quite comfortable and spacious. You never feel crowded. The wait staff is pleasant, helpful and courteous. The food is most delicious and the price is right. Try dining the traditional style, sharing plates with your companions. It's fun and you get to sample different selections from the menu. The food is spiced but not overly so. Just enough to add delicious flavors. Wine selection is good. I went for a vegetarian sampler and my wife chose the chicken dish. We were both sated but not stuffed. The food here is just outstanding and has inspired us to try our hand at creating some Ethiopian style dishes of our own.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a lovely surprise! I went with a friend who loves Ethiopian food. We were both looking forward to having injera tradionally with our hands as that was our previous experience at another Ethiopian restaurant but as we stepped into the restaurant, the classy decor hinted that we would not be eating with our hands. No matter because the food was spectacular nonetheless.

First of all, the waiter was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations. We took the lunch table d'hote and chose the soup and hummus. It was a vegetable soup that was creamed and thick and oh so delicious. The garlic infused hummus was just right with all its seasonings. The injera was served in small rolls and one could easily use cutlery to marry the hummus to the injera but we used our hands :-). The injera was soft and subtle with a hint of tang. Just beautiful! The waiter brought extra injera as well.

Main courses were the Morroccan scallops and their Doro Watt (mild chicken curry) both served over couscous. Very flavourful. The servings were just nice. Not too large, not too small. Once again, the attentive waiter asked if we would like extra injera to sop up the marvelous sauces for our main meals.

The scrumptious and beautifully presented food coupled with attentive and gracious service makes this place a winner. PS - they have more seating downstairs including a "private" room for parties.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great restaurant! Professional staff, thematic decoration and delicious food, which is really "raffinée". You have to try their Steak Tartare, it is just amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Always pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times in the past few years. Yesterday I tried 2 dishes from their lunch menu. Delicious as usual. Le Nil Bleu has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Montreal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Nil Bleu also viewed

 

Been to Le Nil Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Nil Bleu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.