We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food, even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Grain De Sel

Restaurant Le Grain De Sel
2375 Rue Sainte-Catherine E, Montreal, Quebec H2K 2J5, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 522-5105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,420 restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I make sure to visit this establishment whenever we're in Montreal. The atmosphere is warm, and the service equally so. The food is served impeccably, but simply. Our last visit, we had the venison, and it was one of the best things we ever tasted. The pumpkin Creme brûlée was a nice seasonal touch and delicious. What sets them apart is their food, the quality of the service, and close proximity to downtown Montreal. The chef makes the rounds and says hello to the guests. In summary, highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    186
    28
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

For our first time here. Wow.

Great food and great service. I came with some friends, and they were welcomed to Montreal by staff.

Lots to recommend. We liked the steak tartare. Also tried the bavette and frites. And the boar sausage.

More like a bistro atmosphere, but much to be enjoyed here! Still I think this is Montreal at its best.

On revient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent french cuisine and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had lunch there and felt like friends more than customers. The food was excellent and the wine recommended just a perfect match. Will go back for sure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glad I followed the positive reviews as this resto did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just enjoyed a fantastic meal at Le Grain de Sel. I am always looking for a different menu that offers fresh, local produce - a menu does not need to be extravagant to offer good food. Plates were carefully designed, service was fantastic and we really appreciated that the chef visited the table.
To add - I am a vegetarian and while I did not call in advance (which would have been helpful for them), the chef personally designed a plate for me that was fantastic with great flavours of wild mushrooms.
The deserts sounded and looked fantastic but after an appetizer and a main, I was full.
For the quality of food, the price was VERY reasonable.
I cannot wait for my next trip - and next time I will definitely go for a desert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience, Will Repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Trip Advisor rank is well-deserved. Enjoyed everything about this place. Will absolutely return here next time in Montreal. Changing menu, unusual and delicious; warm welcome, server showed genuine interest in our experience without hovering. Easy enough to get to from business district by either cab or Metro. Tasty bread, wonderful amuse bouche, fantastic appetizer, a beet salad like no other. Swordfish to die for, interesting bison sausage, the sea salt, pepper, house-made curry ketchup, mustardy corn-uh-mustard and relish nice additions. Licked the dessert plate clean. Server offered to call a cab but we took his dead-on directions back to the Metro station a few short blocks away. All in all, the most successful and enjoyable dining experience in a week of eating out in Montreal. For the food and service, price was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Grain De Sel also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec

Been to Restaurant Le Grain De Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Grain De Sel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.