We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Grain De Sel

Restaurant Le Grain De Sel
2375 Rue Sainte-Catherine E, Montreal, Quebec H2K 2J5, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 522-5105
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 4,506 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

For our first time here. Wow.

Great food and great service. I came with some friends, and they were welcomed to Montreal by staff.

Lots to recommend. We liked the steak tartare. Also tried the bavette and frites. And the boar sausage.

More like a bistro atmosphere, but much to be enjoyed here! Still I think this is Montreal at its best.

On revient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    30
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent french cuisine and friendly service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had lunch there and felt like friends more than customers. The food was excellent and the wine recommended just a perfect match. Will go back for sure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Glad I followed the positive reviews as this resto did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just enjoyed a fantastic meal at Le Grain de Sel. I am always looking for a different menu that offers fresh, local produce - a menu does not need to be extravagant to offer good food. Plates were carefully designed, service was fantastic and we really appreciated that the chef visited the table.
To add - I am a vegetarian and while I did not call in advance (which would have been helpful for them), the chef personally designed a plate for me that was fantastic with great flavours of wild mushrooms.
The deserts sounded and looked fantastic but after an appetizer and a main, I was full.
For the quality of food, the price was VERY reasonable.
I cannot wait for my next trip - and next time I will definitely go for a desert!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience, Will Repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Trip Advisor rank is well-deserved. Enjoyed everything about this place. Will absolutely return here next time in Montreal. Changing menu, unusual and delicious; warm welcome, server showed genuine interest in our experience without hovering. Easy enough to get to from business district by either cab or Metro. Tasty bread, wonderful amuse bouche, fantastic appetizer, a beet salad like no other. Swordfish to die for, interesting bison sausage, the sea salt, pepper, house-made curry ketchup, mustardy corn-uh-mustard and relish nice additions. Licked the dessert plate clean. Server offered to call a cab but we took his dead-on directions back to the Metro station a few short blocks away. All in all, the most successful and enjoyable dining experience in a week of eating out in Montreal. For the food and service, price was very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining and terrific service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Terrific Experience that I will most certainly return for in future trips to Montreal! The food was amazing, prices were fair, and the service seemed like we were guests at a home rather than a restaurant. It can be tough to find this, but I will say it is at Grain De Sel. I highly recommend to anyone traveling as a must for dining in Montreal!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Grain De Sel also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Le Grain De Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Grain De Sel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.