We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar bush experience Pirate style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cabaret du Roy

Le Cabaret du Roy
363 Rue de la Commune est, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J3, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-907-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #728 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: Do you have the makings of a pirate? Welcome to Le Cabaret du Roy, New-France pirate's den! Welcomed in a warm, funny atmosphere of a 18th century pirate's den, you'll live an experience...Out of the ordinary! How about joining the crew of the infamous Balthazar la Moule, pirate in Nouvelle-France? While tasting your delicious feast, musicians and lively mates will make you sing and laugh like only pirates can do! You'll meet and chat with the finest sea rovers as they try to find new recruits at your table and tell you stories of buried treasures, mermaids and sea battles!
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
689 helpful votes 689 helpful votes
“Sugar bush experience Pirate style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Le Cabaret du Roy also offers for a limited time a sugar bush experience Pirate style. Not so traditional sugar shack food! We got a Groupon for two all you can eat for 49$ which is normally 70$. What fun! The pirate sings folklore songs and plays banjo while you eat. The place is very well decorated and the service was wonderful! The staff always stay in character!

The food was, for our taste, a lot better than the traditional sugar bush experience. You didn't have to immerse your food in Maple syrup for it to have taste. Everything was totally delicious and we ate way too much. We hope they continue to do this every year since we would go back for sure, even without a Groupon.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Great entertainment and food.

Guarantied to have fun.

Music and Games through out the evening keeps you entertained.

Staff is friendly

Arrrrggggg!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“You have to like pirates!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This is a pirate theme based restaurant and the staff puts a lot of effort into entertaining their guests. While some folks certainly like this, it was not really my taste. For families it might be a good choice.

We were there around 18:30 and it was 21:30 until we finally got our main dish. While the ribs were really tasty, the vegetables were over-cooked and bland and the potatoes were burnt and slushy. The soup was bearable, and the dessert was quite tasty.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This restaurant was the last of our 5 day trip to Quebec City/Montreal. 50 students and 4 adults enjoyed the evening. Singing and dancing. Food was good. Try the apple cider, so delightful.
Great staff, you can tell they love their jobs.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude comedians, Bad food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Was there on 21-11-2014. The comedians were drunk and really rude. They will make compliments to the beautiful women in the restaurant and almost insult the less pretty ones. Their jokes always relate to sex and are really not welcomed in a restaurant while you're eating. Wasn't funny at all ! The food was terrible as well ! I started with la soupe de fond de cale and had fish/chicken skin floating in there. the taste was also terrible. Main dish was Joue de boeuf, it was okay... You ask for bread and they tell you that they have to charge you 5$ because the price of bread keeps going up. Didn't make any sense to me. Overall one of my worse dining experience ever.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cabaret du Roy also viewed

 
 

Been to Le Cabaret du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cabaret du Roy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.