We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Must in Montréal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Express

L'Express
3927 rue St-Denis (At rue Roy), Montreal, Quebec H2W 2M4, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-845-5333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Express is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 4,550 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $1 - $99
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Cross street: Roy & Duluth
Transit: Metro Sherbrooke, 3 streets north or metro Mont-Royal, 3 streets south; a five minutes walk in both directions.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a Must in Montréal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

L'Express has a great vibe that hasn't changed in the 20+ years I've been visiting Montréal. It's open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining...so you can get something to eat or drunk at any time of the day. It's simple basic French bistro food done so very well...and I love the cornichons. I suggest going at an "off" time to sit at the bar, enjoy a glass of wine and a croque-monsieur, and soak up the ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    158
    56
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reservations a must if you want a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Reservations are a must at this restaurant, unless you don't mind sitting at the bar for dinner. Althought the menu is in French without English subtitles, they will provide you with a separate English translation as soon as you point to an entree and say "what is this?". There is a varied selection of appetizers, main courses and desserts which should appeal to your palate. We sat at the bar which enabled us to obtain the bartenders recommendations as to wine to go with the meal, and he provided a nice taste to make sure we enjoyed it before he poured a generous glass. Great wines! Great service! The shrimp risotto was excellent, as was the duck. The Pot au Feu had no flavor; it was liked boiled chicken and beef with vegetables, so skip this as a main course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Restaurant or nursing home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Food mediocre, rush rush service
Most of clientele have been going there for meeting their friends during weekend dinner for the last 30 yrs so go figure .
Totally more toward older clients .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of my all-time favourites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Although it not one of "the" best I ever had in a restaurant, because I've traveled quite a lot, it is one of my favourites in Montreal.
Have been going there for over 20 years - the menu is simple, they stick to what they do best and is consistently great every time.
Best steak tartare in the city, (in my opinion), home made pickles, fries to die for and the mousse de foie de volaille aux pistaches is sinful. Good calf liver as well.
Great ambiance, and crowd, any time of day/night.
Keep doing what you're doing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“We were transported!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Like a classic Parisian bistro. Soup de poisson, oeufs dur mayonnaise and bone marrow were all absolutely perfect. Simple, classic food, unfussy but attentive service and great, nostalgic ambiance. Extensive wine list and overall good vibe. We can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Express also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.