We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious steaks, yummy key lime pie and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbys

Gibbys
298 Place D'youville, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2B6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
(514) 282-1837
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious steaks, yummy key lime pie and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was in Montreal for a conference and had dinner at Gibbys. Our group is huge, about 100 people in the restaurant. We occupied the whole basement.

We were offered group menu #1. I was seated at a table with 9 other people. I ordered Gibbys salad with anchovies for sides and petit filet mignon for entrée. Each of us ordered a different entrée. The waiter was able to take down our orders and served us drinks shortly after. Food was served within 20 minutes. All the orders were correct and as requested by us (in terms of how steak was done). I ordered the filet mignon medium-rare. It was a little charred on the outside and rare and juicy on the inside. The steak was perfectly cooked. I had key lime pie for dessert and it was yummy! It was tangy with just the right sweetness that I like.

The service was very good and the food was excellent. Overall, it was a great eating experience and I will definitely return again the next time when I'm in Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    248
    100
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swanton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a family favorite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love Gibby's and are never disappointed with our meal. The previous review stated that the steak had no flavor? The potato was missing ingredients? The chicken kiev only had a small lump of chicken? Really? Our experience was the entire opposite. Beef, potato and chicken ---all outstanding. Why wouldn't you bring all of this bad food to the attention of your wait staff? We love Gibby's and would recommend it to everyone. (Save room for desserts - amazing!!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Not up to par...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to the downtown Montreal Gibbys expecting a very good tasty meal, however, after waiting a long time to get all of our order (waitress always forgetting us) the steak had no flavor, the oven-baked potato was missing ingredients, and there was only one small lump of chicken in the Chicken Kiev! I was told upon reservation that the lower floor was identical to the top floor, which, upon our visit, elegantly fell short of the nice surroundings & fireplace on the lower basement level! We are glad to say that we have been there, but are not going back! The prices are rediculous when compared to better restaurants with better food. Bâton Rouge and Moishe's deliver quite the taste-sensation at half the price!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been here many times on business trips and have never had a bad meal. Food is great, service is great, and atmosphere is pretty cool. We always have a very large group and there are never any issues. Speaking English is definitely not a problem here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You have to experience historical Gibbys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time back in a few years, and the service and food was amazing. Great value- your meal includes a huge appetizer salad, gazpacho or tomato salad; choice of potato and they bring pickles and bread to your table to start. Great choices for wine by the glass, all reasonably priced.

The steaks are amazing and cooked to perfection. Our waiter told us they have been in business for 45 years; I can see why people keep coming back.

There were large groups celebrating birthdays, couples and families. Beautiful building with so much character, you have to try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbys also viewed

 

Been to Gibbys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.