We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best originality sushi in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fushi

Fushi
1112 Sherbrooke St W., Montreal, Quebec H3A 1G9, Canada (Ville-Marie)
514-687-4222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #725 of 4,413 restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: PEEL ST
Transit: Metro Peel
Description: PASSION CREATIO CHALLENGE. Behind Fushi stand a father and son who are passionate about fusion cuisine. Their goal was to create something unique and different. First, there is the refinement and elegance of the place made and executed in an intimate collaboration with the exceptional Montreal designer Jean-Pierre Viau. The ensuing result is nothing less than a striking decor. Under an amber light, privacy and comfort are perfect preamble to the coveted pleasures of the table. In the same vein, special attention was paid to the choice of dishes created exclusively for Fu.shi by the talented and renowned Quebec ceramicist Pascale Girardin. The platters were also carefully chosen one by one in order to offer customers a unique visual experience and constantly renewed. Once done, a plate will never be decorated the same way again, like a temporal design in sand.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“the best originality sushi in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Claude the owner knows how to satisfy his guess.He will try to fulfill all your desiderata.The menu is outstanding and the chef can realize the sushi you want...Just try the sushi flambé au Grand Marnier or the red snapper sashimi.Claude even try to get me the best of the Tuna:the o-toro(the supreme extra fatty tuna sushi)Harakami in Japanese or the chu-toro(fatty tuna sushi)Haranaka in Japanese.Next time for sure hi will succeed when i'll come back in mid february.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    25
    11
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“great lunch box”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited this restaurant because it was next door to our hotel on the day of our departure. We missed the "lunchbox special" by 10 minutes, but our waiter graciously agreed to ignore policy. The sushi and tempura was tasty and the service excellent. We'd highly recommend this restaurant for those looking for excellent Japanese food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good japanese restaurant in Montréal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

- A bit expensive restaurant
- Not a lot of desserts proposed, but i know it is not common for a japanese restaurant to offer many desserts.
- Not enough light above the table (in the part of the restaurant, where i was) Light could be useful to see what you eat.
- Regarding me i haven't had any trouble in this restaurant but I have to mention that it was not the case of everyone. During my meal there, a customer and the owner had a violent talk. They shout at each other so roughly that everybody in the restaurant could hear it.
The customer was unhappy because he said: he has been waiting for 2 hours for his meal !! I was told after that the customer waited indeed too long but for 1 hour "only". So the customer said: he is furious that the owner or any waiter didn't tell him that his meal will be delayed due to rush period, so he isn't gonna pay it. Then the owner answered him that he was sorry for the delay but many customers arrived in the same time and that he has to pay what he ordered. So they exchange violently until the customer shout the strongest and then the owner said: "ok i call the police" At this moment, the friends of the customer stood up and supplied the owner not to do so. The friend of the customer put their angry friend out of the restaurant and keep eating their meal and at the end the owner offered them 50% off. So it wasn't bad for me, but to live this was uncomfortable and you have to know that you could have to wait if you arrive in a rush period, which is normal for me as long as you are advised about the delay.

+ Otherwise, the quality of the food is very good, very tasty and fresh.
+ Service, for us, was also excellent
+ Wide range of choices for sushi.

=> I recommend this restaurant, book in advance and if you can taste the Sushi Flambé also. It's one of the speciality of the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I heard of lots of sushi place before in Montreal and try a bunch. But this place is something special. I try the Black cod as a main course and its truly amazing. One of the best Japanese fusion i've to in Montreal so far. It might be pricey but worth a try. Also the service was really good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and great customer service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great sushi.. And great customer service..all staff was very nice..and sushi was really good.. Strongly recommend.. Try the snapper appetizer..it's delicious..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fushi also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.