We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tex Mex in Mtl!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos and Pepe's

Carlos and Pepe's
1420, rue Peel, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1S8, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))
514-288-3090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlos and Pepe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,398 of 4,419 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: between Ste Catherine and Maisonneuve
London, ON
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex in Mtl!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Service was fast and efficient. Food was hot and tasty. Very good value. Go there and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    39
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“In the tradition of Carlos & Charlie's of by-gone times in Acapulco.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Well, perhaps not quite the same, but as close as you can get without time-travel to 1975......
It's a fun place with good food as a bonus. We were somewhat late in the day in search for a casual dinner, and we had always wanted to check this restaurant. Friendly staff, very tasty fajitas. We had asked to share one fajita dinner with extra tortillas, no problem.
The open front of the restaurant gives one the feeling of being outside while really being indoor. Great for summer evenings.
All in all, on the recommended list.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I went for diner with my wife and child. We were seated and our waiter stopped by with chips, salsa and a real strawberry slush for my child...that right there was a sign of amazing service.

I gave FOOD a very good and not EXCELLENT simply because it was just a bit too spicy for my taste.

I would recommend this place to any Mexican food lover.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Well Worth Stopping By”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a sentimental favourite, but the fact that the minorly offensive decor hasn't changed and that the prices have fallen a bit make this place well worth visiting. A giant margarita and the steak quesadilla are my faves, but I've never had bad food here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Melting hot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Went for a Christmas party and almost melted to death. Something must have been wrong with the heating system. I don't remember what I ate, I just remember sweating and being miserable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos and Pepe's also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Carlos and Pepe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos and Pepe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.