We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Apres Le Jour

Restaurant Apres Le Jour
901 Rue Rachel E, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
(514) 527-4141
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,247 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will never go back !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm a big Fan of bring your own wine restaurant in Montréal but this experience was very very disappointing !! We waited more than one hour before first service, the waiters tried to give us all sorts of excuses that they were too busy, The food quality was just average, the Menu offered just a limited amount of options, and their credit card system at all sorts of issues.

For the same price try some of the other BYW restaurants nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This restaurant seems to be on a steady downhill progression. Was a very good BYOB, then a good one, then an average one and now . . .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Newly refresh- Very good cook and good price and BYW restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

A restaurant in business from more than 20 year. You can bring your own wine (BYW), so reduce the alcohol bill. You can also bring your beer, but no alcohol > 15%.
They just renews all the restaurant (last summer) and add an lounge in the restaurant, you can sit and talk with a cocktail.
The menu is contenporal French, but more eccentric. You will find steak, lamb, pork, duck, pasta and new on menu: Kangaroo !!
I took the salmon , very good, well cook and fresh. There in not a lot of desert, bur look great : i took the soft chocolate cake...Wow.
There is also chocolate mousse, creme brulé and apple crumble.
If forgot the bread is very good ( i see the parallel of quality of a restaurant by the quality of the bread)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Magic in your plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I know they have change the administration and more. The new chef is excellent, you will find things in your plates that you will not see elsewhere. Great food, good ambiance, nice place to bring your wine and they do have great glasses... You pay a bit more, but it is worth it!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service once the whole group was there but it took them 20 minutes to acknowledge my presence. Expensive, you may...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Good service once the whole group was there but it took them 20 minutes to acknowledge my presence.
Expensive, you may need to go to McDonalds afterwards to fill up. Asked for Medium/Well Done and received Medium/Rare. Music was a bit loud makes talking difficult.
I would recommend it to no one.
Advertises whole evening seating and we were moved to accommodate a group in spite of having reserved well ahead of time for our group.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Apres Le Jour also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Apres Le Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Apres Le Jour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.