We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Les Heritiers

Restaurant Les Heritiers
1915 Mont-Royal Est, Montreal, Quebec h2h 1j3, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
(514) 528-4953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Even better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our favourite BYOB resto for family gatherings in Montreal, Les Héritiers has moved to a more commercial (and a little larger, I guess) location. Noisier and busier, but as delicious as ever. Modern Québe cuisine, with lovely meats and game in interesting combos and presentations. Two sittings only (a little too early and a little two late). Look at the menu before you go and then decide what wine to bring with you. Service still very pleasant and personal, despite it being more like proper restaurant than someone's dining room at home (their previous location).

We had meats of various sorts (venison, bavette, lamb shank) all with excellent complementary veg and sauces from the tasting menu, which is still a bargain for what you get.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I must admit that the only reason I went to this pretentious looking restaurant was because it was a friend's birthday. However, despite feeling out of place due to my average looking attire (everyone there was well dressed), the food and service was good. I had the Steak Frites, the only simple dish on the menu...Although it cost $30, I was happy with my plate! The others all got mini versions of what a real dish portion should be, but mine was fine :) I think we also lucked out on the waiter...he really seemed like the nicest one there! Lastly, you need to be aware that they have a 6pm service and a 9pm service. We had the 6pm...so as soon as 8:45 came, they started reminding us to leave...that was lousy! Oh, I almost forgot...the place was loud!!! The music could hardly be heard because the people are noisy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Second time a charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and I had a great meal, Oso Buco and Lamb as mains, Risotto appetizer to die for.
Great service, as I mention this was our second time and will not be our last.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A gem of a bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Highly recommended to us by a "foodie" friend and long-time Montrealer as his favourite bistro. Understandably so! It's a gem.

The degustation menu has some wonderful items on it, including the ravioli and the duck (which comes with an amazing essence-of-duck gravy). The Trou Normand was remarkable - a palate cleansing sorbet of basil, lemon and vodka. Wow! Lovely desserts, including a delicious lemon tart.

Personable service, lovely view of a park, and good value for money (it's an apportez-votre-vin, and the SAQ is a mere 2 blocks away).

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This restaurant is one of the best culinary forward BYO's in the city. Even now they lead the way for others to follow. Four of us ate there last week and everything was perfect except maybe the dessert. What made it so good is that they have moved beyond the complex spiced, and reduction sauces we now expect. The food was simplified in a way that elevated the true individual flavors of the ingredients. Brilliantly done.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Heritiers also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Les Heritiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Les Heritiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.