We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“le BEST in Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Europea

Europea
1227, rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z2, Canada
514 398-9229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $70 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“le BEST in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

Europea was the best place to celebrate my husband 80th birthday.

The atmospher ,the food, the setting , the service everything was great (so was the price I have been joking that I would need a morgage to foot the bill) It was well worth it .We dined for more than 3 hours enjoying the food and the presentation they were more than 12 servings on a menu degustation .IT WAS AT LEAST ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    134
    57
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 via mobile

My experience at European was excellent from start to finish. The service was impeccable and the food was both creative and delicious.
Is the menu expensive? Yes, but I would say you get what you pay for and this restaurant was well worth it.
I would highly recommend Europea to anyone!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This place is near the top of the ratings of restaurants in Montreal for a reason. We ordered the degustation. I really enjoyed how each dish was presented and explained and appreciated the Asian influenced food. Elements from Japanese and other Asian cultures were incorporated into the food which really was a wonderful experience. The service topped it off. I just wish I tipped them more - I didn't know that tipping was customary in Canada like the US...I hope this review makes up for it!!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We went to Europea to celebrate my husband's Birthday, and definitely made the right choice!
Usually we don't try to eat a 12-course meal in one sitting, but for such an occasion a culinary adventure feels just right.
Fortunately for us courses were really small, so we were able to finish it and try many different dishes.
I can only say that both the food and the presentation were outstanding. The flavors took us by surprise, as did clever and unexpected presentation (such as a book.. OK, don't want to ruin the surprise for you). Together with the courses they also serve many amuse-bouches, which contribute to the culinary adventure.
As the courses come, they keep you guessing what will come next and how it will be presented, tantalizing both your palate and imagination. The dinner took 3 hours, but we barely noticed.
Oh, and we received a nice little Birthday touch, and a farewell gift.
Service was fast, helpful and efficient.
I made reservations by email, and got the response right away.
It was certainly the dinner we will never forget.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

went to Europea with my family.Ambience is nice and quite funky. Service:have been to many Relais & Châteaux restaurants in Europe and Europea is a different story. Not classy, service is hasty and no attention to detail is paid. The table is so full with little appetizers and little nibbles that it looks like a buffet. Menu looks nice but flavors are not refined. Parmesan cheese EVERYWHERE even on fish. I understand some interesting combinations can be made but you cannot put parmesan on every meal or just cover flavors with cream. I ordered a tasting menu with rabbit as a main course which was served with a lot of pasta and parmesan. Who serves meat and pasta on the same dish? Bill very expensive and not worth it. Not going back for sure.The idea is that at Europea they try to be exclusive and refined but really the quality of the food isn't a big deal.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.