We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Europea

Europea
1227, rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z2, Canada
514 398-9229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $70 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This institution is amazing. You will have an incredible experience from the food, to the wine selection, to the service. It's a must!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    135
    57
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Almost over the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that we loved this restaurant. We felt that for what you were given, this place was underpriced! The service was outstanding, from the moment you walked in the door, everyone was there to be at your service. We did the 69.50 table d'hote and we were very satisfied! I felt that this place was showcasing itself to me and that the chef was really showing us his "bag of tricks". The lobster cappuccino was my favorite but the mushroom tagliatelle and crispy prosciutto was also amazing. We had an early reservation but our dinner still took 3 1/2 hours. We will definitely be back!!!

Now for some constructive criticism and again, this is just my opinion.
1) sometimes less is more, I would scrap the whole dessert including cotton candy, fudge lollipops, and poached apricots in foam that look like fried eggs and just do one really good dessert. I was not impressed with a bowl of cotton candy.
2) the bathroom could use a makeover. This is a five star restaurant that is number 1 in Montreal on tripadvisor, replace the hand dryer with hand towels and have somebody go in there often and clean it up, replace the towels, and fill the soap. Whenever we spoil ourselves at a fancy restaurant, I like to see if they really took the time to keep the whole restaurant, including the bathroom, up to par, this place fell a little short.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rooms are nice. Heart of downtown next to everything, such as bars, clubs, resturant, shopping centre, and most of the places are open until 5 a.m. Really nice, you have everything around close to this hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like a fairground...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to my friend who arranged a table for us in this 'Relais & Chateux' establishment. The endless nibbles which were served in functional humourous settings, to the main courses, cheese selection and everything else respectfully devoured.
Sublime experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative food that is completely worth the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were able to get a reservation for the Montreal Restaurant Week promotion ($39 for 2 courses at Europea). Even though we were there for a promotion, the service was amazing. We were even "treated" to about 5 extra mini courses which were all presented in a very unique fashion (3 strips of prosciutto hanging on a mini clothes line with mini clothespins), all of which were incredibly tasty. We were even given little dessert bites to take home. Our waiter told us that when you dine at Europea for their regular prix fixe meals, there are even more little bites that they serve as extras. I would go back for their tasting menu in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.