We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formal dining of top quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europea

Europea
1227, rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1Z2, Canada
514 398-9229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Europea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $70 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sainte Catherine
Transit: Metro Peel on the green line
Description: Restaurant Europea has become an essential spot on Montreal scene, a gastronomic "rendez-vous" rich in colour and flavour. Flattered by all the gourmet critics, you will share an outstanding experience offered by the creative and modern cuisine of Chef Jerome ferrer and his 22 chefs team. (named chef of the year, restaurant of the year, "maitre cuisinier de France" An unforgetable moment in a charming Victorian mansion in the heart of downtown Montreal ...When the cuisine becomes an art!
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Formal dining of top quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a restaurant for formal fine dining. Located downtown in an old townhouse, with dining on several floors, the restaurant has a nice and intimate atmosphere. There was a mix of business persons and couples. The service was excellent and personal. They have an extensive winelist and a sommelier to assist. A number of amuses is served, with quite some surprising presentations. With some the effects appeared to be more important than the taste. The quality of the appetisers and entrees was excellent. They served an extensive pre dessert. Compared with some top restaurants elsewhere, we thought that the focus was somewhat more on presentation and effects than on pure taste. We took the four course set menu and added a cheese platter to share. The quantity was just fine, bordering on a little too much. We would be hesitant to take more courses. Overall, we had an interesting and enjoyable dining experience. It certainly is one of the top restaurants in Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    135
    57
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a post-wedding celebration meal, the chef's degustation menu at Europea was perfect. We ate at one of 2 "chef's tables" just outside the kitchen, which added to our enjoyment as we watched food being prepared, plated and served. As others have noted, the actual meal consisted of at least twice the number of courses listed on the menu; at some point you just have to sit back, listen to your (very attentive) server, and savor the incredible flavors. My one caveat: we also had the wine pairings, but had to wait almost an hour for our first glass (of 5). Probably my first, last and only 4-hour dinner, but one I will never forget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a large amount of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I keep a journal, and include in it the menu items my husband and I have at the restaurants we visit. There is no doubt that we have never had as many courses as we did at Europea. We each chose the 9 course tasting menu, and several of the dishes were divine - the 'Tagliatelle of Calamari' and the 'Maple Bark Stewed Pan Seared Fois Gras' were two of those. An extra (and there were as many as the tasting courses!) which we really enjoyed was two Baked Parmesan circles filled with pesto (made to look like lollipops), and the cotton candy was an interesting touch. There was smoke, mist, dessert that looked like a poached egg; it all was impressive, but at a point, there was too much extra as the volume of food was significant. We enjoyed our 3 1/2 hour experience, and it was one of our best experiences on Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Montreal MUST !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Europea is by far the one of the best places I’ve eaten.. Period.. The staff is tentative and are always bringing you small little things for you to try in between courses. If I had one complaint I would have to say it would be they do not change their menu on a regular basis, but that's only me being greedy. The dishes are so well thought out and fuse perfectly together. Arrive with an empty stomach because you will not want to pass on any course.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good but not our style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent food. Nice surprise throughout dinner. We took the menu degustation, while it was good, I prefer fewer plates with more substance. I guess I felt it was too fussy. We took the wine selection for menu degustation, again, would have preferred fewer.

Overall it is an excellent restaurant, everyone around seemed to thoroughly enjoy their dinner. I would go back but would stick to a la carte menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europea also viewed

 

Been to Europea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.