We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet BBQ - A family tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Bar-B-Q

Chalet Bar-B-Q
5456 Rue Sherbrooke O, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace)
(514) 489-7235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 4,553 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Chalet BBQ - A family tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have been dining at the chalet since I could sit on my mom's lap (over 40 years).

Staff is super friendly and oh so quick to bring the delicious rotisserie chicken. Excellent quality and value (family meal is $26.95)

Best Fries Ever

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    58
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ivrea, Italy
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best chicken ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This place does only chicken, so be aware of this. I never had a chicken that taste so good. Nice place that reminds a Swiss chalet. Prices are very small and the quality is so good that this place deserve to be visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Quality always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Eaten here since 1958. Always excellent. Great chicken and fries. Decore hasn't changed in 60 years. Food quality is fantastic and great value. First place I go to when I arrive in Montreal and last place I go before returning to airport, with at least once a day visits while in Montreal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“From another era!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant has been in Montreal for many years, but it is still a family favourite, and is always popular, and it is bustling with people!! If you are not looking for ambience, but enjoy good old time delicious food, this is the place for you....The decor has not been changed since it opened, I would imagine, full of pine panelling, and plastic booths, and the waitresses are old school, wearing frilly aprons, and old-fashioned hairdos, but this adds to the charm of the place. They only serve BBQ chickens, really, with their own sauce and coleslaw, and the fries are to die for, slightly sweet, but oh so good....soft buns are served, so you can make a chicken sandwich if you wish! There is a take out area, so, if you prefer to eat at home, you can either go and pick the food up, or have it delivered..Every time a family member comes into town, our tradition is to always to have a Chalet BBQ meal first, and catch up later. Great place and yummy food...go there!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Don't try order anything else. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

No beef no fish nothing else. These guys are chicken masters. Simple menu and reasonable prices. The wait staff are very patient and great with kids even taking time to decipher the kids French.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Chalet Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.