We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Montreal

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Montreal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package
Ranked #32 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Byram, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here during a conference in July as it was across the street from the convention complex. Checking was a breeze, except they charge a $500 hold in addition to the total owed for your stay. I thought this was crazy, but we had no choice but to pay it.

Embassy Suites is my preferred hotel when traveling and I can say this is the first one I've seen where you can't look down and see the atrium. Being downtown, I guess they could do the circular design they usually use.

We were on the 8th floor and when we walked into our room, we were surprised. The hotel rooms are set up in apartment style. We had a kitchen complete with a full fridge, sink, microwave and full cabinets for storage. While we didn't have dishes, it was nice to have the full fridge to store water and snacks, as we were there for 7 days.

The bathroom was the biggest I've seen from any Embassy. Jacuzzi tub, separate shower, huge sink space and a separate vanity area. We did use the tub after one of our grueling days of sightseeing but mostly used the shower. Even though it looked spacious, it was actually very tight. They also have the toilets with the "1 2" buttons to help conserve water, but only one of our buttons worked. Still a very nice bathroom.

In the living area, there was a sofa sleeper, flat screen TV, electric fire place, and standard desk and chair. They had the accordion doors to separate the living area from the bedroom, which worked great for us, as my teenager stayed up late watching TV and it didn't disturb us at all. The bedroom was a little tight (we had a king bed), but the bed and pillow system was a dream come true. I haven't slept on better pillows that I can ever recall.

One of the down sides to this hotel was the dining. For a hotel this size and in the downtown area, I can't believe they didn't plan for more eating space. If you were not down there early, you pretty much had nowhere to sit. I usually like the omelet station, but these were a little thin so I only got an omelet one time. However, I loved the toast and bagels. The coffee was horrible. Tasted like brown water. I ended up going to the Starbucks up the street to try to get a decent cup of coffee. Happy Hour wasn't very happy either. They did not have enough wait staff and again, table space was lacking. One rainy day we decided to have dinner downstairs during happy hour and we got there pretty early. The waiter tells us they didn't plan on dinner service that day. I asked why since they had a dinner menu and he just strugged and walked away. He finally took our order and the food was good.

The other area that needs improvement is the AC. While we only had a problem one day (we figured out we just needed to reset it) with our AC, the hotel overall was HOT. In the halls, the elevators, and dining area. In the middle of July, that just shouldn't be a problem. Not only was it hot, but it was muggy as well.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay here. Not much they can do about the dining area as there is no room for growth. But hopefully they fix the AC issue. If I every go back, I would stay at this Embassy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    331
    82
    26
    22
See reviews for
243
303
48
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The concierge was the best concierge I have ever dealt with. On our first day, we arrived prior to check-in and because a cruise ship came into port, our room was not quite ready yet, but the concierge was quick to give us very personalized things to do until our room was ready. He recommended a great brunch spot, told us how to rent bikes and get to a couple close spots, along with very detailed directions. The staff took our bags from us, and had them delivered straight to the room for us. The room was very clean, and despite being only a few floors above ground, we never experienced any outside noise issues. Our only complaint was the continental breakfast. The room was too small to accommodate everyone. All 3 times we attempted to eat there, there were no plates, silverware, etc. and many of the buffet items were empty and weren't refilled for up to 15 minutes. I know it's free, but I would recommend going elsewhere for breakfast, perhaps Eggspectations, a great breakfast/lunch spot just 5 blocks away.

Room Tip: They often do construction near there, so make sure your room doesn't face that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONEONTA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room had good "bones, but details were overlooked: ie, phone not working, coffee maker broken, not all electrical outlets working, had to request kitchen use like plates, knives/spoons/forks, ice cube trays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family always tries to stay at an Embassy Suites Hotel. This trip was no exception and they rose to the occasion. The breakfast was fantastic and the managers reception was superb. The whole staff was helpful and knowledgable in speaking both french and english. The location of this hotel was ideal. Great shopping and sightseeing is around every corner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The King suite we got was very nice. The amenities, including the hot tub in the bathroom were nice. Within walking distance of the Basilica Notre Dam. All that was great. But...our room wasn't even properly vacuumed for two out of the five days. Front desk staff knows nothing about the area. Its not their fault. They don't liven in the area! The management should provide them with list of nearby locations of necessities like grocery stores, coffee shops, etc. Instead has management has chosen to push all questions to the concierge who, on one night, sent us to a restaurant literally had exactly one customer in a heavily tourist area at dinner time!

We had a AAA deal and it had many perks. One tip for all who visit Montreal: if you have a AAA membership card, you can expect discounts at all kinds of tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Don't expect the front desk staff to work with you to change the room assignment no matter how l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our suite was well-appointed and very clean and quiet. The hotel is one block from Old Montreal, a couple of blocks from Chinatown and within easy walking distance of the Place d'Armes subway station. The quality of the breakfast food was very good. We did take issue with two things which prevent me from giving this hotel five stars. First, the breakfast was presented in a disorganized fashion and as a result, it was a bit chaotic later in the morning. Go to breakfast early to avoid the crowds and to save yourself some aggravation. Second, the elevators were extremely slow and crowded at all times, and we often had to wait for two or three elevators before being able to get on. Despite these two issues, I would recommend this hotel for the quality of the rooms and the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Accomodations are excellent and the location can't be beat. Great value for family stay. Concierge is extremely helpful. Steps from the can't miss Notre Dame, Old town, and metro. They charge for parking, but that's the price for location. Due to the hotel location, getting a day pass on the Metro is the best deal for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Montreal

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites
Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#21 Business Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Montreal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.