We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude lounge wait staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Montreal to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Montreal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package
Ranked #31 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude lounge wait staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The balding wait staff is very rude. Supposedly, they ask for coupons for the complimentary breakfast before entry to the lounge. If they ensure that their posts are always manned then he wouldn't be so stupid to ask me again for my coupon after I've finished getting my plate. And this also happened to another one in our group two days back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embassysuitesmtl, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Montreal, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apology for the rude staff you encountered. I assure you it is not common to find anyone at our hotel who is abrasive or unwilling to help and we will address this issue appropriately. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and amenities you deserve should you travel to our area again in the future.

Thank you,


Catherine O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    396
    101
    36
    26
See reviews for
303
369
54
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at this property Dec 28-30. Rooms were very, large and clean. Breakfast was very nice as was happy hour. Room service food was good and very prompt. Staff very helpful and friendly. Location was great-close to Notre Dame, Old Port, etc. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend, especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I went to a conference at the Convention Center which is literally across the street, which is why I found the hotel in the first place. Very reasonably priced, even without the Hilton Card and the over 50 discount they gave :-)-O.

But, it's in an ideal location, you can walk downtown, and of course to Chinatown and have dinner in one of the many nice small places there.

The rooms (mini-suites) are large, and very nice.

The staff was very pleasant and they know what they are doing. The breakfast which was included in my booking was not overwhelming as far as choice, but had all the usual things, which were done very well. There is parking under the hotel and public transport nearby.

I reckon, if I make it back to Montreal again, this is going to be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Hotel is located within a five minute walk from Old Montreal with the magnificent Notre Dame Cathedral just around the corner and a couple of blocks.
The parking is underground and, there is an elevator to the Reception area.
The rooms could be called mini suites, with a kitchenette/pantry, sitting area with a pull out sofa bed, a bedroom with a king sized bed and a comparatively large washroom.
The pantry had nothing other than a coffee maker with the usual coffee, tea etc. and hence served no purpose other than taking up space. The bedroom was rather small with hardly any walking space if the doors seperating the sitting area were to be closed. It had a small TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom was large and had two entrances and also a large tub and a small shower cubicle.
Although we found the bedroom and the bathroom areas clean the sitting and pantry areas somehow did not seem clean an hence, when we walked into our suites they did not appear welcoming. We had two suites, and both were the same.
The complimentary Managers reception in the evenings seemed very popular with lots of families, as the adults are entitled to two alcholic drinks including basic cocktails and kids to soft drinks, with pretzels, vegetable crudites & dip, pringles etc. overflowing.
The included morning breakfast was good with the usual breakfast items, but extremely busy. All five of us could not find seating to-gether, with two inside and two outside on the wide pavement. Our son decided to go to the room, with a breakfast box, which you could request from the restaurent manager, and fill it up from the buffet.
The entire experience at this hotel, other than the excellent location fell below my expectations, hence the average rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embassysuitesmtl, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Montreal, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are glad you found our location convenient and that we were able to meet your needs while in town. We have shared your concerns on the cleanliness of your suite and the layout of our breakfast and reception areas with our facilities team and we will work harder to ensure we are doing all we can to best meet your standards of comfort and conditions moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you expect, the next time you visit Montreal.

Thank you,


Catherine O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTPORT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is in need of updating carpets and sofas have seen better days. TV's are functional but older. Reasonably clean. I wonder though if you provide suites at least a few utensils and dishes would be an asset. Like the larger space but newer would be so much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embassysuitesmtl, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Montreal, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests as new perspectives help us to evolve and best meet and exceed your expectations. All suites usually have a set of plates and utensils available in the kitchen cabinet. We will take your suggested updates into consideration as we continually work to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

Catherine O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staying a week or more in Montreal? The Embassy Suites (by Hilton) is a great option. I've been using this hotel for several years when I have to travel to my Montreal office. Shortest stay, one week. Longest stay, three weeks.

As the name would suggest, it is an all suites hotel. Please note that not all of the suites have a stove and range.

Breakfast (cooked to order & buffet) is included and is actually very good. Lots of choice. Room service menu is not very exciting, but the food is good. Not great, but perfectly good.

Smoking rooms are available, but are not as nice (clean) as the non-smoking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrying Place
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have stayed in many different places in Montreal over the years, and this one rates with the best of them without totally splurging. Location is fantastic - close to Old Montreal, the convention centre and a metro station. Walking distance to shopping on St. Catherines street and Place des Arts. Accommodation was nicely appointed and the hotel service excellent. ha dot hold a last minute business meeting in my one-bedroom suite at the last minute, and hotel staff bent over backwards to provide extra chairs, coffee etc. Complimentary happy hour drinkg and full hot breakfast were a bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the front of the hotel if you want a view of any kind
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Montreal

Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.