We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Montreal

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Montreal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package
Ranked #35 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited this hotel last week-end to celebrate our 22nd anniversary. The hotel is fabulous. The room was very spacious, equiped with a full fridge, living room with TV, and fireplace (electric but still...) working desk, huge king bed in a seperate bedroom. The bathroom had a jaccuzzi, a shower, a make-up desk. All in all, it was a very complete, and comfortable suite.

The indoor parking is very easy to access, and while it is expensive ($26 / day), It is worth every penny as the access is simple, and you don't have to drive around to find a spot. It is right underneath the hotel, so you can take the elevator right from there to get to your room. The hotel is located a couple of streets North of the Old Port, and a couple of streets South of St-Catherine. You can get almost anywhere by foot within 10 minutes.

The price of the room includes free breakfast (which is excellent) consisting any kind of eggs you can wish for (you ask how you want them, what you want in your omelettes etc...), pastries, bacon, bagels, toasts, saussages, breakfast potatoes, pancakes, cereals, gruel, fresh fruits... Well, you get the idea! You also get coupons for free drinks between 17h00 and 19h00. 2 drinks per person per day. You can take anything as long as it is not premium (cognac etc), and not blended. So any basic cocktail / beer / wine / sangria are available. It was very nice to enjoy a couple of drinks before going out to diner.

We loved it, and will certainly be back. It is a little more expensive than what you are used to, but considering the free breakfast and drinks, it might be comparable to what you would pay for at a less luxurious hotel.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    373
    97
    35
    26
See reviews for
285
343
52
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My best friend and I went to Montreal for a weekend getaway from Toronto and decided to stay at this lovely hotel. It is absolutely beautiful - the rooms were spacious and clean and the hotel was nicely decorated. Our room had a huge king bed, sofa bed, kitchenette and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Upon check in - the front desk girl was really nice (she had short dark brown hair I forgot her name). She explained everything properly and since I was a diamond hilton member I got some extra drink tickets for the Manager's Reception in the evening. We had a blast at the reception nothing is better than free drinks and some bites to go along with it! The hotel was a great location near the metro and notre dame. We got free breakfast buffet - it was good, however there was too many people at the dinning area kind of hectic. Either than that Im glad we chose this hotel for our stay will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Location is perfect, Notre Dame Basilica is just around the corner, and all the great sights in Old Montreal within easy walking distance. We walked downtown from here too, all the way to McGill, but the metro is easily accessed. I liked the parking too - you have to pay everywhere so you might as well have your parking accessed by elevator and zip up to your room, nice. The staff was incredibly friendly - we were running VERY late for our dinner reservation when we arrived at the hotel after a long drive - Mike the concierge called the restaurant for us and even walked us to the place since we were not quite acclimated to our location. He grabbed his coat and said, "come on, I'll walk you there..." - how nice! While we enjoyed our lovely dinner at Chez Delmo (great place to eat), Mike took our luggage to our room. The free breakfast is very good - made to order omlets are good, but it gets busy of course on the weekends, as does the cocktail hour. But both save you money and if you have a good attitude, are really quite fine. Only downside - we were on the 6th floor and still heard some street noise in the AM. Would definitely go back and appreciate the fine staff there, from the front desk to the bar/restaurant - all had smiles and great attitudes. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just spent one night at the Embassy Suites in Montreal and I absolutely loved it. The room was huge and came complete with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and massive bathroom that included a jacuzzi tub and separate stand alone shower. Very comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable rate. Best of all, a full hot breakfast and wifi internet are complimentary. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent three days at the Embassy Suites in Montreal, Canada. Our room was great. We had a full kitchen with a full size refrigerator. This alone can save you money as restaurants can be expensive. Great location, many places to visit are close by. Breakfast included with good selections. Clean hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinte Region
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites with the kitchenette and sitting room. The rooms were fairly large. The kitchenette was clean. The carpets were pretty dirty and spotted, and the grout in the tiled areas were black with grime. The furniture was somewhat old. Oddly, there was only one dresser in the place: a half-width (3'), 3-drawer unit... in the closet. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms were over-warm. The AC unit appears to be an individual unit for the room, and takes up one half of one of the 2 bedroom closets, and sounds like a washing machine when it runs. The bathroom had a large whirlpool tub that I'm certain nobody ever uses, and a comically small glass-walled shower wedged in the corner. The bathroom stunk of urine. The vanity was tiny and impractical. Really, the whole place was poorly laid out. There was still construction noise during the day. The wifi was terrible! Really, really slow, and you could only get connected if you stayed in certain parts of the room!

Having said all that, the staff I spoke with were friendly and generally spoke english without being [--] about it. That's not always the case in Montreal, or Quebec. We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast was typical hot/cold buffet stuff, lunch was actually alright (I had the burger, quite good!), and dinner was meh. I had the filet mignon, and it was small and overcooked. This place served our needs, but I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embassysuitesmtl, Manager at Embassy Suites Montreal, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us via Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and welcoming and that we were able to meet your needs while visiting Montreal. I understand that guest suite presentation and functionality was a concern, as it is for us as well. We have addressed your concerns on our heating units with our maintenance team and will look into solutions for the noise it generates. Your comments on your dining experiences have been shared with our food and beverage team and they will use it to continually evolve our dining experience. I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us again and let us know how we are doing; we would love to have you.

Thank you,

Catherine O'Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very convenient, clean hotel at the entrance to Old Montreal. The staff is warm and friendly and constantly helpful. No real restaurant or bar, a large space adjacent to the lobby serves this purpose. Can't beat the location or value if you want a nice place on the edge of the Old Port.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Montreal

Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#28 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Montreal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.