We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury private jacuzzi + free wifi + great comp breakfast = awesome choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Montreal to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Montreal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save Up to 20%
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“luxury private jacuzzi + free wifi + great comp breakfast = awesome choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were in Montreal for 3 nights for an event at the Conference Center (Palais des congrès de Montréal) across the street. We were traveling with our 2 year old, and were a bit apprehensive about it all: getting to the event on time (and on foot), potential "Canadian winter" outdoor temperaatures (in November), the need to access food (milk, yogurt, pastries) at all times... and were delighted at the end of our stay. The Embassy Suites (by Hilton) meets all our expectations.

- Location: the hotel is situated near what looks like the financial / business section of downtown - it's not close to the main shopping or dining drags, but it's perfect for us because our main goal was to be close to the Conference Center (which I could have sprinted to, toddler in arm, without taking more than 3 breaths). One evening we walked back from the main shopping area (where H&M is, you get the idea) - via the awesome Montreal underground network, and remained indoors all the way into the Conference Center. We walked very slowly, with a tantrum-ing toddler, and the walk only took us about 20 minutes. You'll spend longer if you end up walking into any of the thousands of shops, of course.
The hotel is also little more than 2 blocks away from the Basilica Notre Dame - and the rest of Old Montreal. Walking distance (even with stroller) to many bistros and cobblestone streets. Many bistros though, only open after 5 pm - but that's not the hotel's fault! The hotel is also walking distance to Chinatown, where restaurants open late and you can get decent food relatively cheap (and up to 10 pm).

- Room: this is the most spacious room we have ever gotten for under $200. All the rooms in this hotel are suites - with a kitchenette, extra sofa bed in the "living room", very large bathroom, and a entry foyer / closet area. The kitchenette has a real-life sized fridge with ample freezer space for a few gallons of ice cream if you wish. There's a full function microwave, a kitchen sink that i want for my own home, and a very basic coffee / tea brewer. What perplexed us was that there was no stove or cooktop / heating element - not a big issue since it's not like we were gonna actually cook... but why the huge freezer and fridge if we weren't gonna be storing groceries to cook?? We filled up the fridge with milk and yogurt we get from the complimentary breakfast buffet instead, so that our toddler can eat all the yogurt he wants even at midnight.
The large two-person sized (square shaped) jacuzzi tub is the best i've seen inside an individual hotel room. It's conceivable that some lesser hotel would have called that a public jacuzzi in the basement floor for all to share - it's that big. and clean - very important.

- Food and Drinks: We were offered complimentary breakfast buffet for each of the 3 mornings we stayed there, and on the weekends it lasts till 10:30 am (9:30 am for weekdays). Selection was decent. We were also given complimentary beverage coupons (covers even alcoholic drinks) to be used each evening between 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. We filled ourselves up with cocktails before dinner.

- Service: Front desk staff were all Francophone, but all speak decent English. They were very friendly when we stumbled in at 9 pm with our toddler - immediately giving our toddler a goodie bag to keep him occupied while we sort out rooms. Our booking was a conference-special rate, and only entitled us to a room with a Queen bed (plus the sofa bed in the living room), but they spontaneously offered us a King bed suite when they see us scrambling with a kid. Conceirge is helpful. There is also self-served coin-operated laundry in the building (basement) - bring your own detergent.

All in all, we were very happy with our choice. Not sure if we were stay here if our main goal was to sight-see, but then I never gotten around to do research for the sight-seeing type of Montreal trip. I have a feeling that the "downtown" hotels that are close to all the shopping will all be in older buildings and less spacious. All the hotels around the Conference Center are posh and new: the Embassy Suites, Westin, Intercontinental etc. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    427
    112
    39
    27
See reviews for
326
403
60
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed with my wife in a suite for 8 eight days. This is a very good hotel with free wi-fi, breakfast included, happy hour with 2 free drinks at the bar, daily. No free parking.The suite is spacious, quiet, clean and has a mini kitchen (coffee maker,fridge and microwave).
Very comfortable queen bed with a big closet, but the bedroom is a little bit small.
Friendly front desk and efficient housekeeper.
The subway station is across the street, and you can walk to many interesting spots, like restaurants, touristic points (chinatown, St catherine street, old port) and stores.
You don't need a car in montreal. The subways covers all the city and it´s very safe and efficient.
We'll definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but on my last trip I thought I would save some money and take one of the non-suite rooms that are on offer at this Embassy Suites location. I won't do it again. The room was adequate and it has the kitchen that all suites here have, but when they did the renovation for these smaller rooms, they should have eliminated the kitchen and made the bathroom adequate. The bathroom must be the smallest one I have ever had in a major hotel. One cannot turn around in it and there is no place to put your toiletries. Otherwise this is a great hotel and, like all Embassy Suites, you get a great breakfast and good drinks in the evening. I also must say that the staff here has always been very friendly, efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't try to same money by taking the non-suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I traveled to Montreal for the first time with my husband and two daughters. I picked this hotel based on location and the reviews here on Trip Advisor. I have to say I was not dissapointed. The room is spacious with a mini kitchen that serves its purpose when you are traveling. The rooms were newly updated and it showed. Very, very clean, nice carpets, very good bed and bedding. There were two flat screen tvs, a pull out couch, and a big bathroom. We had booked a regular suite, but were upgraded to one with a jacuzzi tub. Wow! That was the highlight of the trip for my kids. It was like a pool to them. They spent a lot of time playing in there. The hotel offered nightly happy hour, which was nice. The only negative thing I would say is that there was construction in a part of the lobby. Neither Trip Advisor nor the hotel mentioned anything when we booked. I think that is the kind of thing that should be disclosed to the customer. But, in all honesty, the construction did not affect our stay at all. Oh, the hotel is a couple of blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral and near a subway station. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed there one week as I attended a conference across the road at convention centre and other meetings.

This hotel is well-located if you want to be near the convention centre or anywhere downtown as it is a short walk to Rue St. Catherine for shopping. For a selection of resturants or the Vieux Montreal it is a longer walk or a short taxi ride.

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, I cannot describe how good they were! The reception desk helped us greatly with the best tips for where to shop for what... etc. Most of them remembered us and our names even though there were so many guests and the hotel was full - they made us feel special.

We were given what appeared to be a suite that was a bit larger than the normal as it was in a corner. The suite was well appointed with very nice furniture and fittings.

The bathroom was quite large with a corner spa bath, my only complaint is the seperate shower was a little narrow since they took up a lot of room with the spa. They had nice body products.

The bedroom area is a bit cramped with two beds in it but if it was only 1 king bed it would be ok. The beds were incredibly comfortable.

The living area and kitchen were HUGE; we had a 3 seater couch and 2 single seaters, a desk, fireplace and a huge fully appointed kitchen with granite benchtops. Very spacious.

Manager's reception between 5.00 - 7.00 pm a hit with cocktails/wine/beer and some nachos etc, jalopeno poppers etc.

The breakfast was reasonably good considering its complementary, there was plenty of variety and there is a place to order omelettes, fried/poached eggs etc.

We ate at the restaurant on the 1st night. The menu was unappealing and uninspiring however the food was quite nice and we were pleasantly surprised.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The room was more like an apartment - 2 rooms, full kitchen area, bathtub big enough for 4, granite, flatscreens, full size stainless-like fridge, fabulous bed. 2 free drink coupons every night, decent complimentary breakfast in the morning. My only complaint is the wifi was spottier in some rooms than others. But totally worth it otherwise!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

One of the nicest Embassy Suites we've stayed at. Most of them are identical in style and a little "tired". But this one was like walking into a nice Hilton with a very large, modern lobby and open restaurant concept. Very nice check-in experience, with friendly front desk. The room was extremely nice with a fireplace, huge bathroom, and ample kitchen area. The only negative was the size of the separate shower. I'm 5'2" so it wasn't an issue for me, but my 6'2" husband did complain a little about feeling cramped inside the shower. Great location, just a two block walk to the heart of old Montreal. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay near the restaurants and shopping that old Montreal has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Montreal

Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.