We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in cool city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool hotel in cool city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We couldn't find place at The Delta Centre-Ville Hotel in Montreal, so we took this hotel as a second choice. I am not disappointed.
Modern and very clean hotel with spacious rooms .
Breakfast is included in price.
Be prepared to fight for your breakfast as dinning area is to small for such a big hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    178
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
142
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have just spent a week here, and overall impressions are very good. It is situated in a side road which is not very attractive but don't let this put you off. As mentioned by others, it is so convenient to walk to St Catherines and Des Jardins with shops and food court, or down to Old Port and Place St Jacques, Rooms are rather stark but clean, not plush but with all things you need. PC in room is good and wi fi works well. A kettle would be better than coffee machine although it heats water it still tastes of coffee!
Staff were all very helpful - particularly Ben on Reception.
Shower room very modern but not enough space to hang towels or put things. Cupboard space for hanging clothes is a bit limited.
Air con - good. Electrical plugs on wall have been changed and not plastered around which looks more dangerous than it is!
Large size fridge in room. Beds are very firm, and duvets have seen better days.
Breakfast room a bit dark and gets crowded at peak times, although people spread out into the lobby area. Plenty of food available.
We managed the car park OK, true it is just a safe local multistory. - but in this area you really don't need a car.
However for the price it is well worth the money and would come again.

Room Tip: We had a room on floor 8 on the front, with the window open it was noisy in the day ( local building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay clean and modern me and my friend stayed here for 3 days. This hotel actually named Le Dauphin is at a great location which gives you easy access to all the places in Montreal either by walking or metro, by the way we've manage to explore a lot by walking. I was impressed with the whole room set up as far as the beds, sofa lounge chairs, bathroom and desktop computer with free wifi. I was here in Montreal 8/2/13 for the music festival (Osheaga) which was held in Parc Jean-Drapeau not far from this hotel and the following 2 days i manage to explore a little of almost everything in Montreal and with that say I'll leave you with one note. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, I will definitely use their service again once I go back to Montreal.

Merci beacoup Le Dauphin!

Room Tip: Noise free and a secure safe for your valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second time to stay at the Hotel Dauphin. It is a good value for Montreal, and well located - right next to the convention center, and a short 10-15 minute walk to old Montreal.

The rooms are basic, with modern Ikea-type furniture. The beds are very firm and the pillows are not the highest quality, but they are OK. The free Wifi was operational most of the time. I was there during an unusual hot period, and thankfully the air conditioner was very good.

There is no restaurant onsite, but there is a free continental breakfast. It is a basic offering. All the breads are packaged, none were freshly baked. They did have fruits and hard boiled eggs, as well as warmed beans. There were no breakfast meats. Yogurt was available. There is a small sandwich shop just at the corner down from the hotel which is good.

Service at the front desk was polite.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on June 16th for three nights. We were impressed with the hotel given the value nightly rates. Definitely a great hotel for business or family trips! Although it is situated in a not so crowded area of downtown, which could be a bit intimidating when walking through at night, it is walking distance from many "Must See" areas of Montreal. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included and decent! WiFi was available for free and hotel security was good. The staff in the front desk however was not very helpful. When dealing with a high volume of tourist, I feel they should be trained in answering questions dealing with sightseeing locations, maps, restaurants, transporatation etc.... We were not even offered a map when checking in the hotel! I approached the front deak a few times during my stay to ask questions about sigtseeing locations, but was not offered much insight or useful information! Overall, i would recommend this hotel if you can get past the unhelpful staff. It is a great hotel at a reasonable price! I would have rated it excellent if not for the staff un-helpfulness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenzuola, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really nice! The front desk girl in the evening was very helpful & friendly! Other staff were nice too! Really great location! Walking distance from everything in the town. We stayed there for 3 days and will come back when we'll be in Montreal again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There's too much furniture in the room, not functional or best use of space. Nice bathroom and flooring for value hotel. The breakfast service was terrible with stale baked goods (in a town full of French boulangeries). The attendant prohibits guests from taking a cup of coffee or banana outside of the small eating area. As a frequent business traveler, I find this rule far from customer friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#17 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#43 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#29 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.