We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have just spent a week here, and overall impressions are very good. It is situated in a side road which is not very attractive but don't let this put you off. As mentioned by others, it is so convenient to walk to St Catherines and Des Jardins with shops and food court, or down to Old Port and Place St Jacques, Rooms are rather stark but clean, not plush but with all things you need. PC in room is good and wi fi works well. A kettle would be better than coffee machine although it heats water it still tastes of coffee!
Staff were all very helpful - particularly Ben on Reception.
Shower room very modern but not enough space to hang towels or put things. Cupboard space for hanging clothes is a bit limited.
Air con - good. Electrical plugs on wall have been changed and not plastered around which looks more dangerous than it is!
Large size fridge in room. Beds are very firm, and duvets have seen better days.
Breakfast room a bit dark and gets crowded at peak times, although people spread out into the lobby area. Plenty of food available.
We managed the car park OK, true it is just a safe local multistory. - but in this area you really don't need a car.
However for the price it is well worth the money and would come again.

Room Tip: We had a room on floor 8 on the front, with the window open it was noisy in the day ( local building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    143
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
80
100
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay clean and modern me and my friend stayed here for 3 days. This hotel actually named Le Dauphin is at a great location which gives you easy access to all the places in Montreal either by walking or metro, by the way we've manage to explore a lot by walking. I was impressed with the whole room set up as far as the beds, sofa lounge chairs, bathroom and desktop computer with free wifi. I was here in Montreal 8/2/13 for the music festival (Osheaga) which was held in Parc Jean-Drapeau not far from this hotel and the following 2 days i manage to explore a little of almost everything in Montreal and with that say I'll leave you with one note. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL, I will definitely use their service again once I go back to Montreal.

Merci beacoup Le Dauphin!

Room Tip: Noise free and a secure safe for your valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second time to stay at the Hotel Dauphin. It is a good value for Montreal, and well located - right next to the convention center, and a short 10-15 minute walk to old Montreal.

The rooms are basic, with modern Ikea-type furniture. The beds are very firm and the pillows are not the highest quality, but they are OK. The free Wifi was operational most of the time. I was there during an unusual hot period, and thankfully the air conditioner was very good.

There is no restaurant onsite, but there is a free continental breakfast. It is a basic offering. All the breads are packaged, none were freshly baked. They did have fruits and hard boiled eggs, as well as warmed beans. There were no breakfast meats. Yogurt was available. There is a small sandwich shop just at the corner down from the hotel which is good.

Service at the front desk was polite.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on June 16th for three nights. We were impressed with the hotel given the value nightly rates. Definitely a great hotel for business or family trips! Although it is situated in a not so crowded area of downtown, which could be a bit intimidating when walking through at night, it is walking distance from many "Must See" areas of Montreal. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included and decent! WiFi was available for free and hotel security was good. The staff in the front desk however was not very helpful. When dealing with a high volume of tourist, I feel they should be trained in answering questions dealing with sightseeing locations, maps, restaurants, transporatation etc.... We were not even offered a map when checking in the hotel! I approached the front deak a few times during my stay to ask questions about sigtseeing locations, but was not offered much insight or useful information! Overall, i would recommend this hotel if you can get past the unhelpful staff. It is a great hotel at a reasonable price! I would have rated it excellent if not for the staff un-helpfulness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenzuola, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really nice! The front desk girl in the evening was very helpful & friendly! Other staff were nice too! Really great location! Walking distance from everything in the town. We stayed there for 3 days and will come back when we'll be in Montreal again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

There's too much furniture in the room, not functional or best use of space. Nice bathroom and flooring for value hotel. The breakfast service was terrible with stale baked goods (in a town full of French boulangeries). The attendant prohibits guests from taking a cup of coffee or banana outside of the small eating area. As a frequent business traveler, I find this rule far from customer friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a business event in nearby Old Montreal. I was a little nervous about what the hotel would be like because the price was about half of what nearby hotels were charging, however I ended up being extremely impressed with this property. The rooms are actually nicer than the photos on the Internet would indicate. First of all, the location is fantastic. Right next to Conference Centre, 2 minute walk to subway, 2 minute walk to Old Montreal, 10 minute walk to Train Station, coffee/juice/pastry bar across the street, and walking distance from lots of other things like Chinatown, St. Catherine Street, etc. Hotel is in a quiet-ish area yet steps away from all the action. Good security (you need room key to use elevators). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wi-fi was free and very fast (no problem using Skype video, for instance) and simple to use, no annoying login passwords needed. Rooms had a computer and work desk but I brought my laptop and got it all setup. Nice big fridge and safe. Room itself was modern and comfortable in a kind of IKEA-style, very well designed with smart use of space and great ergonomics. Super comfy bed, the whole place was immaculate. I probably wouldn't choose this hotel for a romantic weekend with my wife, but for business and family travellers this place is a terrific deal. I also liked the fact it was a small hotel with less than 100 rooms, so it never felt crowded or too busy. My room rate also includes free breakfast, which was above average ... lots of choice, baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cheese, cereal, juices, etc. All in all, I was extremely impressed by this place (is better than some hotels in Montreal that I have paid way more for) and will definitely stay here again when coming to Montreal for business.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are probably quieter since they don't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.