We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have several friends who have stayed here and just loved it! Our stay wasn't the greatest, so perhaps I may try again one day.
Our greeting wasn't the warmest. I believe our receptionist wasn't in a very good mood. Maybe her last customer wasn't very happy, but she certainly wasn't friendly and didn't smile at us once while we were checking in.
The room is stunning! Large space, clean, hardwood floors, beautiful bathrooms!
My boyfriend and I were staying in one room on the thrid floor, while friends of ours stayed just down the hall.
Our beds were pretty hard! Our friends commented on their hard bed as well. When I returned home to tell my friends who love this hotel, they couldn't believe it. They all had comfortable sleeps. I guess we just didn't luck out on our beds?
The other problem we and the other couple shared was the noise. It seemed that most people on the third floor like to use the stairwell instead of the elevator, which is fine, but the door made a heck of a bang each time it closed - and people are coming and going throughout the night! May we suggest to the hotel a door sliencer... It was rather annoying hearing this door slam several times in the night. Other than that, we couldn't hear noise from adjoining rooms which was nice.
The day we left we encounter the same woman who checked us in. She was much nicer, smiled more and we were then on our way. We all have off days, so I bet she is normally a much happier person then when we first arrived.
Breakfast came with the room, which surprised us. It was good, enough to choose from, but nothing to brag about. We were satisfied and full.
The location was great - right in Old Montreal. We had arrived by train and it was about a 10 minute walk from the station. We dinned at Gibby's in Old Montreal - which was about a 10 minute walk away. Fantastic meal had there - but very pricey, but we would all return.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying on a higher level - not the thrid floor where people use the doors to the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    140
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
81
102
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed one night at Hotel Dauphin. I didn't know what to expect because I've never heard of this chain of hotels, but was pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in was a double queen room. It was spacious. The room and bathroom were clean. There was a computer in the room which we didn't use as we had our own. So that means Internet was free. Location was excellent as we were able to walk everywhere - Chinatown, Old Montreal, St. Catherine street (shopping, food, entertainment, etc). Only once did we use the subway due to the fact that it was raining. The room had blinds instead of curtains which made it feel more like home to me. The decor was modern. The floors aren't carpeted so it made an echo in the room which may not have been pleasant for our neighbors as our baby woke up several times at night crying. Breakfast was free. It was quite busy when we got there. They ran out of mugs, muffins and bagels when I got there. Most were refilled quickly. Breakfast was good.
Overall a great stay. Would come back to this hotel if in Montreal again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This small hotel does almost everything right: friendly staff who went out of their way to find me an umbrella on a rainy morning, a great breakfast serving up real Fairmount bagels (the ex-Montrealer in me certainly appreciated them but the quality may have been lost on some other visitors to the city who did not clue in that these are the best of the best), comfy beds and sheets, nice walk in showers, desktop computers in the room, WIFI, iPod dock (couldn't quite get it to work though), and much more. The only thing lacking for me was a full length mirror. Certainly I got great value for money. Thank you, Dauphin!

Location wise, it is very near the Jeanne Mance stop for the airport bus #747, so getting in from the airport was cheap and easy at $8. (I bought the $16 3 day pass so got 3 days of transit including my return trip to the airport). It is steps away from the Palais de Congres and just a few more from old Montreal. Place des Arts was also just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lovely, quiet, spacious room in a small hotel at a great price. Pleasant, helpful bi-linqual staff. Modern decor, generous continental breakfast from 6:00 to 10:00 which very well suited our lazy schedule. Conveniently located a block from the convention center and Place d'Armes Metro. Easy walking distance to Downtown and Old town. Even at 65, we didn't need a car or even a cab during our four day stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Dauphin as an alternative to more expensive hotels suggested by a medical conference. The location was great, two blocks from the Convention Center, and a short walk to Old Montreal. The bed was very comfortable, and the breakfast was really nice - bagels, croissants, cereal, yogurt, cheese, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice. We spent the savings on great restaurants in the area - all within walking distance. One suggestion - the hotel should install towel racks in the bathroom - people will be more likely to reuse towels if they have a place to dry them out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the Dauphin for 3 nights. The hotel was really clean. I did not like the feather pillows that are provided as the ends poke you in the face while you are tossing around and the towels in the bathroom were a little bit on the cheap side.

Room Tip: Try your air conditionner before going to sleep as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Easy waking distance to Old Town, chinatown and main shopping areas. Staff were very helpful in showing how to find things on the map they provide. Breakfast included was also a nice benefit as Montreal can be quite expensive.
Room included a computer and free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.