We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown to your Saves list
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family and I stayed here on two occasions.
It is vary handy, being a short walk from the train station and very close to the downtown amenities.
The staff were very helpful and polite. The place was extremely clean and very nicely furnished.
The room was a good size and the bathroom was exceptional.
The facilities were great and the breakfast options were comprehensive and of good quality.
I was very pleased with the price. i have paid a lot more for a lot less elsewhere.
I would definitely stay here again, it really is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a level access (walk in) shower, which was huge for a hotel room. I would ask for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    170
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
94
128
24
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here during a recent conference and chose the Hotel Dauphin from a list of conference hotels. Most of the conference hotels were typical well-known chain hotels with high prices and little character. The Dauphin is a smaller hotel on a quiet smaller street, about a block from the convention center and convenient to old town, the pedestrian mall, and the Chinese district. On arrival I was met by a wonderfully pleasant young man, born and raised in Montreal, who spoke impeccable English. He could teach a class in how to greet customers. My room was very attractive, clean, and well appointed, and even included a computer for guest use. There are room darkening shutters and the room was very quiet. Room decor was very modern and tasteful. All of the staff that I encountered were very helpful and pleasant and spoke English well. I did not have occasion to try the breakfast. If I had occasion to travel on business to Montreal again, I would definitely stay here. Although not as expensive as the nearby large chain hotels, the Dauphin is reasonably expensive, and I would probably not choose this for a family trip.

Room Tip: I had a room in the rear and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel is really nice and clean, all what you need is there, Big refrigerator, Computer, nice breakfast and free internet, Internet should be just like the towels and small shampoo bottle in the hotel, it’s not accessories any more, location is also very nice between the old Montreal and the downtown, also there is Bixi(Bicycle renting) just behind the hotel, liked my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff at this hotel were professional, but still managed to be friendly and helpful in both French and English. We had interactions with at least 5 different staff members, and each one went out of their way to assist us in non-hotel related issues.
The hotel rooms are clean and fresh and the hotel is convenient to the old city, as well as shopping and the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

An easy walk to restaurants, shopping, subway. Contemporary furnishings with larger than average rooms for a downtown hotel. Well maintained, great breakfast with a nice dining room and commercial espresso machine. Extra attention to security with access cards is nice, too.
Expect to pay for parking & finding a liquor store is near impossible, but that is just part of downtown living.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here from May 24 to May 28 2012. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when asked about local activities. The included breakfast included bread, toast, muffins, baked beans, bananas, apples, yogerts, cheeses, coffee, milk, and cereals. The location was convenient, just behind the convention center and between Old Montreal and downtown. We easily walked to old area and to the Mount Royal area with no problem. The only downside is that they do not have their own parking facility. However, we were able to purchase parking for the convention center that was just a block away. We would definately return here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is new, clean, and is in a great location.

The hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We had an issue with parking at the Congress Centre (the parking machine ate up an extra ticket for some reason). We informed the staff and they gave us a parking spot at the hotel. No questions asked, no extra cost.

The room is clean, has pretty good beds and descent-sized fridges. All of the rooms have hard-wood floors, automatic darkening window drapes, spacious bathrooms and great lighting. Not only does the hotel have free wireless internet, each room has a desktop computer with Windows Vista. Great!

The continental breakfast was pretty good and included the basics (hey, it's included!).

This hotel is 3 blocks from the St. Catherine O shopping district and about 6 blocks from Old Montreal.

Will definitely recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: If you're interested, there are rooms with waterfalls and a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown

Address: 1025 de Bleury Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dauphin Downtown Montreal is a modern, comfortable, independent boutique hotel. An extraordinary location makes it the city's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.