We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Relais Lyonnais to your Saves list
Le Relais Lyonnais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2K3 , Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We will come back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would say that this quite a unique hotel. There are only seven or eight rooms in the whole building and it almost felt like renting your own apartment. We were on the third floor overlooking Rue St. Denis and had access to a balcony where we sipped our coffee each morning. The room comes with a flat screen TV (even though the cable did not work), a Nespresso maker (yes--exciting), plenty of closet space, a safe, mini-fridge, and a living room. The room was chic, immaculate, and super quiet at night. If you are looking for a private and relaxing place without the chaos of a typical large hotel, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Reserve Room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    62
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
197
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great stay at this quaint hotel. Right in the heart of a very busy St Denis street with many attractions and eating places. The room was very clean and well organized. Very quiet for such a busy area. The restaurant below was convenient and offered a wide selection of tasty delights. They have an association with the parking garage across the street. A nice place to stay at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: try to get there before 7PM, as the office in not around the clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. You might expect to hear a lot of noise as you're right on St-Denis - that wasn't the case at all - at least not from our room (102). The room was small but with everything we expected and needed. We found the place very clean. The manager was extremely attentive and served us very well. The hotel is close to everything.

The parking was a little tricky to find but once you know where to go, it's quite easy - it's in the garage of the St-Denis Theatre. You will run into homeless people but has nothing to do with the hotel - it's just that a fact of life.

Almost forgot - we made great coffee with the coffee machine in the room!

Below the hotel, there a lovely restaurant, "La Brioche Lyonnaise" - we had great breakfasts there - but that's for another review!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a “Deluxe Queen” room at the rear of the hotel. The location is in the heart of the student area close to a metro station which is very lively with many bars and restaurants located directly outside the hotel. As our room was at the rear it was quiet, however Im not sure if this would be the case for one of the front rooms. The room was modern with a fridge, bottled water and a very good espresso machine (tea bags were also provided for tea drinkers but there was no means of boiling water!?). The shower was excellent although there was no bath, unfortunately however the air conditioning unit was placed directly above the bed and water dripped from it onto our heads throughout the night. There wasn’t much living space in our room which was medium sized and there are no other amenities in the hotel available to guests (reception area is very small) so this did give us a claustrophobic feel to our stay however at the price charged we were happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girl booked a weekend at the Lyonnais for my birthday, it was perfect. A boutique hotel with the friendliest staff to greet you when you check in. The place surely has history I didn't look into yet the room had a modern flair while maintaining it's character. It's in the middle of some nightlife/dining so noise is to be expected. If you're looking for utter quiet it's not the place for that. If you like the hustle and bustle of seeing people out and enoying themselves you're right amongst them. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am reminded of an 'auberge' that I stayed in in Terrebonne, which I loved. The big difference here is the location and much more modern. I booked the regular room through our company travel agency (no choice) and requested a high room as I usually do. I just realized that I got the upgraded Suite on the 3rd floor!

I didn't have much interaction with the staff. I checked in late as I had business to attend to once I landed, and was off to dinner shortly after I checked in. It was pretty quiet when I got back after dinner, and it is hard to tell how many rooms are occupied. The front desk is not manned at night. The light dimmers in the room were nice and the washroom vent has a timer (very smart).

The bed springs were slightly squeaky, but still comfortable. I encountered the same type thermostat that I did with the auberge and not sure how it works. The wi-fi is finicky, which is probably due to the room being high up, which did make it inconvenient at times, especially when I had to get some work done. Lastly, the Cafe and Bistro was not open in the morning, around 7:45 am on a Thursday.

This is my first 'excellent' rating and it is deserving of its ranking, currently at #12. I would gladly come back and pay regular price for personal or business use if I get the chance.

Room Tip: Suite 301 all the way! Although you have to deal with stairs, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located on St. Denis right next to tons of bars and restaurants. Only a few blocks from St. Catherine and short walk to Old Montreal. The people working at this place were very friendly and happy to show us things to do and give us directions. The hotel is small but in such a perfect way. Great for couples. The furnishings are very modern, very clean, amazing shower. Bed was very comfortable. Also, even though we were there on a weekend by a bunch of bars, we could not hear a thing once in our room! Choosing this place made our trip to Montreal wonderful and stress-free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2K3 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Lyonnais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.