We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Montcalm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sir Montcalm
Save
You added Sir Montcalm to your Saves list
1453-1455 rue Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3G9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this wonderful B&B in the heart of the village for six days and I can honestly say that it was near perfection. The room was the perfect size, modern, clean, and well kept. The common areas of the B&B were very nice. Two outdoor areas full of chairs and flowers. The breakfast is bordering on gourmet and different every morning. Excellent coffee and wonderful fresh fruit too. Andre' and John will take very good care of you. The only complaint I have is that it got a little stuffy in the room a couple of nights but that was quickly solved by opening a window.

The location of Sir Montcalm is the best in the city. Just a few steps off St. Catherine in the heart of the village and just a few blocks from some of the best bars in Montreal. The Metro station is just a five-minute walk and the central bus station (for the airport bus) is only 10-minutes away.

Do yourself a favor....STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that opens onto the terrace. All the rooms are quiet though and have excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
27
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I never got around to writing earlier , 3 of us stayed at this perfect B&B.in july . all in different types of rooms and couldn't have been happier ! Charming ,welcoming , beautifully decorated and maintained . Can't wait to go back this summer .. I rented the large apartment it exceeded my expectations . The pictures do not do this place justice ! Trust me I travel all over the world and I will DEfiNATELY stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed in one of the suites (nr 4) for 5 days at the end of April, which turned out to be a very good choice (also the great spring weather helped a lot!). The suite itself is nicely decorated with quality items, as already mentioned by other reviewers, which makes it a very stylish and comfortable room. The room is on the second floor with a view of the courtyard, a small balcony and direct access to the second floor sun deck. We had a very good sleep thanks to the comfortable bed, the quietness of the room, and the light-blocking curtains.

Reception at the B&B did not feel very welcoming at first, as the host incorrectly was only expecting us a day later and was questioning whether we had not arrived a day earlier than booked. Luckily that was quickly clarified though and our room was available. However, on the day of departure we felt a bit rushed in vacating the room as bed linens, towels etc were already removed before we actually vacated the room. We appreciate that other people would check into the room later in the day, but this could have been handled better in our opinion. Cleaning of the room (and general facilities) was very good every day, so we were very happy with that.

Breakfast consisted of a set menu, with a different menu every day. The quality of the freshly cooked breakfast was good. However, we feel that having a choice out of at least two menus every day would be better, as just one menu may not cater to everyone's taste. Also a combination of a cooked breakfast with a continental breakfast buffet could be a good suggestion.

Even though we received a low season discount (25%), we still felt that the price was on the high side for the time of year, even though we do recognize that this is a very luxury B&B in a good location.

As for transport, the B&B is located in the middle of the Village, just one block away from the nearest (Beaudry) metro stop. Also, the B&B is located about a 10 minute walk away from the main bus terminal, where also the (747) airport bus stops frequently. We were only advised to take a taxi as that is the easiest (but also most expensive) option, but it would have been good if we had also been advised about the airport bus option (which is less than half the price of a taxi, if going with 2 persons) as some guests may prefer to use public transport (and save the environment a bit).

Overall we were happy with our stay, with only a few things that can still be improved, as mentioned above.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites at the back of the B&B if you want to be away from street noise. We hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in October so first apologies for not writing this earlier. To begin with Andre' is a great host even parking our vehicle for us so we could unload our cases and then taking the car to its parking bay for the two nights we were due to stay.
The hotel must be the most interesting conversion we have ever seen who ever designed it knew what they were doing. We stayed in apartment 4 which is quite large with ample wardrobe space fabulous bed but more than both of those the most glorious shower one could expect from a room.
Outside our room and all the rooms is a communal lounge and kitchen which are both exquisitely designed and furnished we could have moved in truly it was so inviting and comfortable we didn't want to leave.
As for breakfast this is served in the apartment where Andre' lives and cooked and served by the wonderful Sylvain and if I have spelt his name incorrectly I apologise but his Eggs Benedict must be the first and best you could ever have the pleasure in tasting
If you are ever in Montreal and you are gay please take our advice and stay here you will not be disappointed Martyn and Ray

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Private, cvlean, exceptional. Andre' and Yvon made me feel special. Stayed in room #2 over Rembrance day weekend. Nov 11, 2012. Will return. Rooms 2 and 4 book out early, the suite is hard to come by. Check out the granite showers with infinite watter temp control.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 book out early. The suite is hard to come by. Off season rates are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Words cannot begin to describe the quiet, classy beauty of this remarkable B&B. Conveniently located literally around the corner (less than 1 block) from the center of Le Village (St. Catherine). Host Andre could not be more accommodating, the rooms are compact but exquisitely furnished with all the comforts of home w/ en suite bathrooms. Room 2 has the queen size bed and only a curtain to separate the toilet but couldn't have been more comfortable.
Gourmet breakfasts are served downstairs in a homey dining room (outside in season), cooked to order as you arrive in the morning and well worth the price alone!!! Our three breakfasts each topped the preceding one: fresh fruit cup with a dash of yougurt to start then: Day 1- omelette with amazing brown toast; Day 2- french toast w bacon; Day 3- eggs benedict w asaparagus (perhaps the best I've ever had)... simply to die for!
Needless to say we will return and bring friends, with only 5 rooms it is possible to have a quiet couple get-a-way or take over the place with your best friends and have a gay haven unto yourselves.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the queen but only curtain to separate the toilet Rooms 1 & 3 have doubles but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am almost lost for words. This B&B is so much more. Easy to find, convent and those are before you even enter. Breathtaking design relaxing and spotless clean. Great hosts not intrusive but always helpful, you get the feeling its not just another business but really a hobby of theirs to have guests.Had a street facing room but was silent , good sound insulation between rooms. Did I say clean? Spotless . Breakfast fresh made each morning and delicious. Not a cheap bed and breakfast but same as local hotels for 3 star and here you get 20 stars at least.Good house coverage of reliable and fast internet connection, lovely tough of help your self Kitchener in common lounge with soft drinks and snack bars ,, help your self and all included. What else did I forget,,,, the dog,,,, lovely welcome .Thank guys it was great place and think that like the other people who meet at breakfast I will become a return visitor ( that in one line sums it up ,,, people come back)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Montcalm

Address: 1453-1455 rue Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Montcalm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.