We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Absolument Montreal B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolument Montreal B&B
Save
You added Absolument Montreal B&B to your Saves list
1790 rue Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in August as tourists, exploring Montreal for the first time together. The location, though not ideal, worked for us because we didn't mind walking 5 or 6 miles a day, even in the heat. There are a few unpleasant blocks (around the UQAM metro station) between the b&b and Old Montreal, and we did not walk there at night. However, walking to the restaurants on St Denis was not a problem at night.
The room (Cinecitta) was attractive and spacious with a nice balcony; however, the shower is tiny and the tile on the bathroom floor was loose and unpleasant to walk on (and impossible to keep clean). Service was good, but often there were no staff on the premises, so we missed having time to chat and get tips about local attractions. Service for breakfast was excellent, and the four course meal is amazing. We ate from 9:30 - 10:30 each morning, then used the afternoon to sight-see and try several restaurants for dinner. Montreal is a great place for food and dining. We also enjoyed the Contemporary Art Museum, the Fine Arts Museum and the Musée du Château Ramezay. Although we flew into Montreal, we were going to Vermont afterward so took the Greyhound bus from Montreal to Burlington, which was a surprisingly easy and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: This room (Cinecitta) had tiny shower; not suitable for large person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbsMontreal, Owner at Absolument Montreal B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Stéphane and I thank our previous guests for their kind compliments and comments, all of which helped us to build a successful business. After five memorable years, we have decided to sell our home to pursue another passion in life, real estate. Absolument Montreal B&B will be closing on October 6, 2011.

Carpe Diem,
Kent Sanderson and Stéphane Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
125
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BEAR ,DE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is my second home away from home; I love the service,friendlienes and the great ambiance this B & B has to offer. Have stayed in a few other B & B in Montreal but this is the best and greatest I have encountered.
Ken , Stephane and their Team will pamper and look after you so well that you hate to leave this place .
Everything is in walking distance and I like to explore other part of this Great City Montreal is in my view a City with a strong European flair.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My partner and I took our first trip to Montreal and stayed at Absolument. Guy and Kent greeted us when we pulled up and they were very friendly and welcoming. We unloaded our luggage and then parked our car in the reserved lot just around the corner. During our brief tour of the grounds, we were immediately impressed by the room (we stayed in the Tennessee room) and all the books, DVDs, and magazines lying around for anyone wanting a diversion. There were also loads of tourist information as well as gay-specific guides for the Montreal/Quebec area.

We stayed two nights (Friday and Saturday), and loved it all. Hector served us an amazing breakfast on our garden terrace--the food went on and on and all of it was delicious (so was Hector!). We also spent a good deal of time in the hot tub, surrounded by the many different trees and bushes, flowers, and enjoying the variety of birds that stopped by (our favorites were the cardinal couple nesting in the nearby tree).

The bed was very comfortable, and we had all the amenities we could ask for. The fridge was even stocked with complimentary sodas and water, and we had a nice pair of chocolates waiting for us on our bed pillows.

We loved it there very much and only wish we could have stayed another day. We will definitely stay there again when we next visit Montreal, and we've already recommended it to other travelers we met along the way. It was a highlight of our wonderful trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: I only saw the Tennessee room we stayed in, which faces the garden. There seem to be four rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We felt very welcome and get really helpful Infos, what to do in Montreal.
But first of all, we had the best breakfast ever in Canada. We will always remember that.
Of course we will be back, if we visit Montreal again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we had fantastic service from the entire staff of Absolument! We were met at the door and offered assistance with our bags as we relocated our car to their nearby parking. Much to our delight, they offered to upgrade us to the Oscar Room since it was currently available. We thought that was a very nice move on their part. While I'm sure our experience would've still been great in the smaller room, it was nice to have the space, plus they've hooked us for life and we will definitely come back if we roll through Montreal again. Location is very convenient to everything. We parked the car for two days and never touched it. Breakfast was incredible and they've rekindled our appreciation for the often-ignored meal. We had nice weather and took advantage of the patio and it made for a great start to the day! I've even made an Absolument-style dinner since returning from our trip! Room was beautiful and clean, plus it was nice having the refrigerator stocked with some beverages. The whole atmosphere reminded me of the times I've stayed in Japan (especially leaving your shoes at the door), and that is certainly a compliment coming from me. The DVD collection came in handy as well for the late nights when you were done with the nightlife but just needed to wind down. We HIGHLY recommend Absolument for anyone going to Montreal. I guess the only negative is that you'll be so stuffed from breakfast that you won't have much room for all of the other great food in the area! You definitely won't spend as much on food while walking around the city, though, and that's a huge plus!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have enjoyed B & B’s all over Europe down through Costa Rica. We try to stay where we can experience the local atmosphere. Absolument B&B can’t be beat. The room was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable.Our hosts were so helpful with dining suggestions and directions on the Metro. The Jazz festival was fantastic and the museams were terrific. The breakfast served on the patio was unbelievable.. It just kept coming. They served three courses of the most exquisite yogurts, fruit, nuts, cheeses, meats, and pastries. Then they present a hot course which might be eggs, pancakes or French toast. On our final morning Hector and Gary topped this extravaganza off with a perfectly prepared chocolate- raspberry soufflé! After four mornings of this we waddled on to Quebec City. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I have stayed at many B&B. Absolument is one of the best i've stayed at. Had breakfast out on there back yard patio, and what a breakfast it was. Were talking Eggs Benedict , French toast with glazed bananas. Did i mention the Jacuzzi. And to top it off , there as sweet as can be.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absolument Montreal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolument Montreal B&B

Address: 1790 rue Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unique, classy and comfortable guest rooms with luxury amenities in this cinema-themed B&B. Gourmet breakfast served till noon is included in rate. Relaxing garden with a large spa/jacuzzi in downtown Montreal! Absolument Montreal B&B is a 5-minute walk to the bars and restaurants of the Latin Quarter and the Village, and a 15-minute walk to the summer festivals, downtown shopping and historic Old Montreal. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Absolument Montreal Hotel Montreal
Absolument Montreal Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absolument Montreal B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.