We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pride of Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal (OSM)

L'Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal (OSM)
Maison symphonique de Montreal | 1600 rue Saint-Urbain Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Y9, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)
514 842 9951
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 480 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Longueuil, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The pride of Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best reputation from all over the world.They always had great conductors.The present one, Kent Nagano, is brilliant.In addition to la Place des Arts,a new concert hall has been built,la Maison Symphonique de Montreal.It's a must to visit in Montreal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    26
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Watched a performance of Sibelius from the Choir section of the performance hall (only about $35 if your under 34) . Very well done building and acoustically pleasing. However the entrance to the OSM isn't that well marked in the Palace Des Arts so it can be tricky to know if your at right place if your not a local.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love the "Children's Corner"concerts - High quality music, fun and interactive performance for the kids. Great to introduce the kids to the world of classic music.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great concert, nice venue conveniently located to downtown. One of the best in North America. Recommended for visitors to Montreal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANTOWN
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The hall has great voice, the orchestra is super.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted to "hear the hall" as much as the orchestra. We were not disappointed. Although I was hoping to see Kent Nagano conduct the orchestra, we were not disappointed by the guest conductor.

The hall is both good-looking and a marvel for listening. The twenty years it took to bring the hall to life was worth the wait. We were in town on a Wednesday night and were fortunate enough to get tickets for a performance. It was the highlight of our visit to Montreal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal (OSM) also viewed

 

Been to L'Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal (OSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal (OSM), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.