We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Getaway - Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Terra Nostra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Terra Nostra to your Saves list
Le Terra Nostra
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   277 Beatty Streett, Montreal, Quebec H4H 1X7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Last Minute Getaway - Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend in the middle of February and only booked a few weeks ahead of time. It was the perfect little getaway! The decor was really exciting and the entire place is colorful and artistic. Each room is unique and cozy, and the heated bathroom floors were a godsend in the winter. Mimi, the owner, is super helpful about giving directions to places and tips for using public transport if you don't want to drive. She will feed you every morning of your stay if you awake before 10 (and serve coffee or tea), and speaking as a super picky eater, the food was great! Make sure you bring sturdy, waterproof footwear - if you are staying in the winter as we did, the sidewalks are super slushy and snowy as they do not shovel!

Room Tip: Each room is unique! All are quiet, even the two rooms with the street views (Asia Room and Europa R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauzon_mireille, Owner at Le Terra Nostra, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello Carolyn,

Thank you for writing such a nice review about Le Terra Nostra and myself. It is always so appreciated, It makes my choice of being an innkeeper worthwhile.

Unfortunately, you came in a mild temperature for winter standards, making the streets slushy in the city. But Montreal do shovel its sidewalks, but on week days, if not an emergency. Don't forget, a week or so before, and you would have gotten -30°C, or -21°F, with no slush but very cold temperatute!!!

Looking forward to see you in WARM temperature!!!

Mireille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
105
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On our first trip to Montreal - we could not have had a better place to stay! Mimi is amazing and clearly passionate about what she does. She was so helpful in getting around the city and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Europa room and it was beautiful - very comfortable bed, large shower and bath. Breakfast each morning was delish - french toast with fresh jam, crepes with apple and pear and delicious coffee. I have already highly recommended Le Terra Nostra to several people! Thank you Mimi for the amazing time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauzon_mireille, Owner at Le Terra Nostra, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello C.& T. (not alowed to write your names),

Thank you very much for those nice words. They are very much appreciated.

I am glad you finally made it to Montreal, even though it was hard work to get around the cacelled landing of your flight, but it sounds it was worth it,
You are always welcome at Le Terra Nostra and we hope we can welcome you again.
If you send any friends or family members, we promise to pamper them!!

Have a great week.

Mireille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went there from Toronto to celebrate new year and very liked the place. Housekeeper is very friendly (she even helped us to plan the trip!). I definitely recommend this place to anyone, who wants something different from hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay! The owner Mimi is a wonderful hostess and made me feel welcomed from the moment she opened the door. The rooms are all decorated with a theme, I stayed in the Africa room. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom had a shower and separate bath. The breakfast was served in the dining room and it was a real treat. Our first breakfast, Mimi provide juice, home made muffins and crepes filled with ham and cheese and fruit. The next morning Mimi made mini mushroom quiches, french toast with jam that she had made that morning. There was always plenty of coffee and juice. In the upstairs hall she had a pot for hot water so you could make a cup of tea and there was also a small refrigerator filled with bottle water if you wanted a cool drink. .She also advised us on the best way to get around and what was going on in the city.
This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a delightful place to stay! Mimi called us on the day of our arrival so she could be sure she would be at home when we got there, and she was a fount of information about what to see and where to go. I stayed in the Asia room, and my friend had the Africa room; both are comfortable and beautifully decorated. Interesting objects and art are everywhere in the house and reflect Mimi's warmth and excellent taste. Breakfast was a treat each morning: mini blueberry muffins one day, mini quiches the next as an amuse-bouche, followed by crepes with ham and cheese the first morning and French toast with homemade jam the second. Both breakfasts were accompanied by fruit juice, and the presentation included fresh fruit on the plate. I would recommend this B&B to anyone heading to Montreal: It's a great value for the money, and a delightful experience all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

One of the nicest places on our tour of Eastern Canada.
We stayed at the Africa and Europe room - both were great, the Europe having the bigger bath room.
Mireille is a great hostess. Her breakfast, taken in the back garden, was lovely. Her informations concerning the places to see and to eat, were really helpful. It was lovely and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Hard to say - Africa - the room is a little bit bigger, the bath smaller, but almost just as nice as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Le Terra Nostra for three nights while on vacation and had a tremendous time. The B&B clearly reflects the beautiful design sensibilities of it's owner "MiMi:. Our room (Afrika) was beautifully and functionally appointed. We were given excellent advice on local restaurants, sites to see and getting around in Montreal (leave the car and take the metro!). The breakfasts are made from scratch and are superb. The B&B is directly across the street from a green-belt that borders the St. Lawrence Seaway providing beautiful sightseeing, walking, jogging or biking. Out back, there's a quiet, private courtyard perfect for enjoying a glass of wine after a day of siteseeing. Le Terra Nostra would be our first choice on a return trip to Montreal. Grazie Mille!

Room Tip: Just stay at this B&B - you will be glad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Terra Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terra Nostra

Address: 277 Beatty Streett, Montreal, Quebec H4H 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Terra Nostra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neighbor to the St Laurent River, bordered by a superb bicycle path, Le Terra Nostra offers affordable luxury 10 minutes from downtown, Old Montreal and the casino. Located on a beautiful street with century old trees, our B&B houses rooms inspired by the styles of the world as well an award winning garden. Generous and delicious breakfast, different every day, is served in the garden from May to September or in the gallery-like dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Terra Nostra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Terra Nostra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.